We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camalou
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Ieper Centrum(Ieper (Ypres))
$135
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Main Street Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir Ogygia(Poperinge)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pax(Diksmuide)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariane hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrosia Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albion Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe(Ieper (Ypres))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
81
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I had the great pleasure of spending time with Annette and Christian at their wonderful guesthouse.
Annette had spent an considerable amount of time researching the final days of 3 of our great uncles who lost their lives in WW1 and it was a very moving experience visiting the battlefields where they fell and their memorials.
Both Annette and Christian are excellent guides, displaying a depth of knowledge on WW1 that is amazing. We learnt so much that cannot be found in guidebooks or the history books. They are very genuine people who love their subject with a passion that is so infectious.
The guesthouse is comfortable, warm and inviting and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
We can't recommend Camalou and Annette & Christian highly enough!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have stayed at Camalou at least once a year for the last 5 years, it is a wonderful place to have a relaxing break, it is quiet, the rooms are immaculate and Annette and Christian are the perfect hosts.
This year we went to the Somme with Christian to find where our uncle lost his life in 1916. He has a great knowledge of the area and we had a very moving day at Thiepval and Mametz Wood
Breakfast at Camalou finds you sitting round a large table with interesting people from all over the world, here to find out about there ancestors who fought in the 14-18 war.

Mel and Jenny

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We recently did a 4 days Battlefields tour with Annette and Christian, where we visited WW1 battle sites, memorials and museums. Although we had no family member involved in this arena of WW1 and it was in the middle of winter, the tour exceeded our expectations. From the moment Christian picked us up (group of 6 Aussies) from our hotel in Lille until he dropped us back 4 days later in the middle of a snow storm, we experienced a most informative and educational tour. We were shown and told of the many battles that took place during WW1, with as much detail as we could absorb and they responded to our questions in depth.
Our day started with a hearty breakfast, and at the end of the day, we would return to the warmth of Camalou, their lovely B&B. When we went out to dinner, Christian drove us into Ieper and picked us up later. The other nights they allowed us to use the breakfast room to prepare/heat a light meal purchased during the day.
Annette and Christian both joined us at the Menin Gate for the nightly ‘Last Post’ ceremony. Their respect of Australians then is evident, and their generosity to Australians now is shown by the way they welcomed us into their home and the many little extras which were not part of the package. We recommend this tour for anyone who is interested in Australian WW1 history.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We booked a Battlefield Tour with Annette and Christian on the basis of a personal recommendation, and we were delighted. Both Annette and Christian have a deep knowledge of the Western Front, and in particular, the role of Australians. Camalou was a lovely home, and both Annette and Christian could not have done more to make our stay memorable and informative.

Ian and Susie Nosworthy, Adelaide, Australia.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ian and Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We booked a battlefield tour with Camalou and were certainly not disappointed. Annette is a knowledgable tour guide with great enthusiasm for her subject. She had gone to a lot of trouble to find out all about my grandfather's war consequently making our tour personal and highly informative. With her skill and knowledge she managed to put my grandfather's final days into context whilst still giving us an overall perspective. Annette is a caring person with a keen sense of humour. If you want to find out more about Flanders Fields look no further. Thank you Annette.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
Thank Vivien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews