We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Abacus House is in short a fantastic house in a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alistair...
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Abacus House is in short a fantastic house in a perfect central location!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A truly brilliant 3 story house in a perfect quiet location a stones throw from the town center.

Beautifully presented in every way you would have great difficulty finding anything to fault.
Johan was the perfect host, there to meet us on out arrival, he explained where everything was and how it worked it appears that nothing is too much trouble for this man, we needed to check out at 7am and he was there with a smile on his face!

There are detailed instruction books for the house and guides to the local area which were a great help.

The house is bright, beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard with amazing high ceilings, the owners have spared no expense in making this a comfortable and inviting home from home with very comfortable beds.

Abacus house is situated a 2 minute walk from the town center Cloth Market, Cathedral and Flanders Fields museum and about a 5 minute walk from Menine Gate. There are a great selection of restaurants and bars on your doorstep.

The owners are easy to deal with and though the deposit is higher than some of the other properties in the area dont be put off it reflects the quality of the furnishings and fixtures, our deposit was returned in full the very next day

Next time we are back in Ypres we will definitely be staying at Abacus House again.

The only amenity that we found lacking was that there was no washing machine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the location
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic house, excellent location.”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Abacus house is splendid, a credit to the owners. Very spacious, clean and well maintained with three bathrooms. 2 minutes walk to the Menin Gate, town square and Cloth Hall. We stayed from September 15th to the 20th 2015, a group of four adults, all very impressed with the quality and facilities this wonderful house and town of Ypres had to offer, well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Contemporary decor, high standard of accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently stayed at Abacus House. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Lovely House, location perfect for exploring Ypres on foot. As a family who lives in a village we were amazed at how quite it was. We are hoping to return in the new year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12345709
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful property at an excellent location”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a week staying at Abacus House, simply wonderful.
The house was large, clean and had everything you needed (we were a party of 6).
Fantastic location just minutes from the the centre, Johan the owner was very helpful.
First trip to Belgium and definitely not our last.
We shall return to Abacus House in the future and continue exploring their wonderful country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location, comfort, simply everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like, not one negative
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandmaJH
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday house in great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were an extended family of seven and this house was enjoyed by all. There were 3 bathrooms so we all had our own space. The furnishings and equipment were really good and there were even some games for the children. The position is excellent, 5 minutes walk to the Menin Gate and the square. Parking was no problem either as Johan, the owner, gave us parking passes and a map of free parking places. He also provides a very good book with maps of shops, launderettes etc nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linandmik...
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here as a group of 8 adults to commemorate a Liverpool Scottish action which took place in June 1915. ( 100 years ago). Almost daily one of our group would say how lucky we were to find this house. It is so convenient for the centre of Ypres, restaurants, museums, bars and especially the Menin Gate. It was also very convenient for visiting the numerous battlefields, cemeteries and memorials.
Parking is only a minor inconvenience until you get used to the system, we found plenty of free parking within a few minutes walk of the house.
The house is only advertised as sleeping 7 but Johan went out of his way to enable 4 couples to stay here in comfort.
All together we had an excellent week and will hopefully return. Many Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fabulous house with so much space, each floor with a great bathroom and very comfy beds. Johan even made up a bed in the music room downstairs for my mum. Johan organised a wheelchair for my mum collecting before our arrival so it was there ready for us. The info booklet answered any questions but Johan was at the end of the phone or email if we had a question. We booked the house a year ago as we had a specific date for us to be in Belgium. Throughout the time Johan was prompt in his email reply. Money was completed via bank transfer and Johan let us know when the money had arrived. If you had more than the advertised 7guests I'm sure it could be accommodated! We would certainly go back as the house was 3 minutes from the menin gate and close to town for restaurants and bars. 6 stars minimum!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing