We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient, quiet and well equipped”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisS166
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Convenient, quiet and well equipped”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely house with everything you could need, as long as you don't mind lots of steep stairs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abacus House and couldn't believe how central we were for everything, especially the Menin Gate for the Last Post ceremony each evening. The owner was charming and helpful, even tipping us off about the 'secret' car park over the road! The bathrooms are truly enormous - although our one criticism was the lack of provision of any soap on arrival. A minor detail but inconvenient to have to go out and buy some on arrival.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: No soap
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_Lou...
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quaint little house”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a beautiful house, Abacus House was all we hoped for and more. So many beautiful, original and quirky features, this house was the perfect place to stay. The house contained all we could have hoped for and more, every kitchen item you could possibly need, TV and games for if it rained and a very helpful information guide about the house and surrounding city. Johan could not have been more welcoming or helpful if he tried, he offered a downstairs bed to be made up for my disabled mother in law and even arranged our taxi from and back to Brussels airport. Whilst we did not need to call Johan during our trip it was so reassuring to know he was only a phone call away. I hope one day to return and stay here once more, a truely memorable and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming and friendly owner of property
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful House to stay in - in a 'must see' Town.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Abacus House is a stunning property in a really beautiful town of many very fine buildings. The House is extremely spacious with shower rooms suitable for a football team and 'walk in' wardrobes in every room! The huge bedrooms are all extremely comfortable and we all slept well. It is not just spacious but is very well equipped too with all you need, it even has flat screen TV and WiFi with full Internet access. Johan, the owner, is a charming and friendly man for whom nothing is too much trouble. He helped us out with one or two problems without hesitation and with a smile! Our party consisted of five adults and two young children and all of us enjoyed our stay immensely. If you ever want a trip to Belgium, for whatever reason, this is a great place to stay, having good access to all of the places of interest.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of the property overall.
Liked least: Parking can be troublesome at busy times.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Abacus House with my husband, children and their grandparents. The property is absolutely beautiful with a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge, gorgeous bedrooms and possibly the largest and best bathrooms EVER! There is also a lovely patio area and sun lounge.

We had a fantastic week here and would recommend it highly. There are great restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away. There is also plenty of free parking in the streets surrounding the property.

The cathedral, Cloth Hall and Menin Gate are all only a few minutes walk away. I recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit Ypres - fantastic!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property - absolutely beautiful.
Liked least: Nothing - can't think of anything negative to say.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanMcCar...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow! Fabulous house in beautiful Ypres”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Having stayed in many holiday lets over the years this house has to be the best I have ever stayed in. Johan and Christine have renovated a Belgian townhouse into a beautiful modern and attractive place while staying true to the character of the place. The photos do not justice to the property. Rooms are big and tastefully laid out. The bathrooms with walk in closets are amazing and I want one for my own house. The kitchen is so modern, light and functional. The walled garden with the funky lighting is fab. The property is ideally situated for Ypres with the Menin Gate less than a five minute walk away. Bars and restaurants within waking distance also. Fantastic location for exploring the area with easy parking. Book early as this property is going to be much in demand. Thank you Johan and Christine.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb0rah11
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in an excellent location with very helpful owners.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I stayed at this property for 3 nights at the end of June/early July 2013 with my partner and our 2 teenagers. We all found the house extremely well equipped, clean & comfortable with an excellent location near the centre of Ypres. The owners are very helpful and made us all feel most welcome. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property. Thank you Johan & Christine!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley h
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay, clean, spacious and very well equiped”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Abacus House was a wonderful place to stay. A home away from home with all the amenities to make a holiday very pleasant. Plenty of rooms and three bathrooms, great Kitchen and outdoor area. Close to the Market square and shops, Restaurants, etc etc. Ypres is a lovely place and well worth a visit. Johan provides plenty of tourist information and a warm welcome. I thoroughly recommend a stay here will not disappoint.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean spacious rooms and location close to everything you need
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing