We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent House - Perfect Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Orangutan...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent House - Perfect Location”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Only a 2-3 minute stroll from the Main Market Square in Ypres and Menin Gate. Plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby.
We were a party of 4 adults and 3 children and feel really fortunate to have found this house. It is well equipped and finished to a good standard: kitchen, bathrooms, games/music room. All bed linen and towels were of good quality and all the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The house had a lovely homely feel.
Conveniently located to explore Ypres and the surrounding area - we would definitely recommend it to friends and family.
Johan and Christine thank you.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wished we could have stayed longer
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peelypost
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delightful house in a magnificent location”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Thoroughly recommended. A beautifully presented and spacious house over three floors, with three spacious bathrooms. The house is well equipped and modern. We travelled as a family with four children, 8-13. There are plenty of amenities within easy walking distance, as are a wealth of historical locations in Ieper (Ypres).

Parking is available for free pretty much outside the house and it felt safe for a town/city centre.

We were made to feel really welcome by the owner, and the deposit was returned promptly.

We would certainly return.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light airy rooms
Liked least: No washing machine (but not a problem for us as were only there a few days)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion G
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Christmas Break”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had a wonderful Christmas in Johan and Christine's house. The accommodation was just perfect and the bathrooms were to die for. The kitchen was a joy to use and we had no problems producing some gourmet meals during our stay. It was lovely to be in the centre of Ypres and to be able to walk around so easily. If we had stayed for longer we would have spent more time investigating the town and visiting other places. As it was we spent a lovely Christmas Eve in Bruges and enjoyed wandering round Ypres and just enjoying our time together in such a lovely setting. Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It is a beautiful house located right in the heart of town and was comfortable, elegant and a joy to be in.
Liked least: The rain but it has rained everywhere just lately!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful house in the heart of Ypres”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We were really lucky to find this house in such a convenient location, a couple of minutes walk from the town square. The house was very well equipped with excellent quality linen, the bathrooms were luxurious and the house overall had a very warm homely feel. Johan and Christine were excellent hosts and we look forward to coming back soon. We found lots to do during our stay, the highlights being, the last post at the menin gate, the museum and plentiful restaurants and of course belgian beer! I would recommend the restaurant at the end of the road Abacus house is on, called Den Olifant - much cheaper than the restaurants on the square and a really nice atmosphere.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the rooms and bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing