We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of B&B Demi Lune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Demi Lune
Ranked #17 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I visited Ypres with my partner and some family to find a relative's name on the nearby Menin Gate. Peter is an exceptionally warm, friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable hotelier who seems to genuinely enjoy running this business. We didn't ask a lot, but it seemed as though nothing would be too much trouble for him to help with. The rooms were comfortable and if we are back in the area, we wouldn't even bother to look for anywhere else to stay. We opted for the continental breakfast, but were still asked if we'd like any bacon and eggs cooked for us. We noticed (but didn't hear) some hens in the garden area, so you know the eggs are laid fresh and free-range if that is something that matters to you. We had three of the five rooms and were the only people staying at the hotel that night (something we still can't understand due to the enjoyment of our stay!). Myself and girlfriend stayed in room 103, which is - only slightly - the most expensive in the building. My brother stayed in the room opposite, whilst my mother stayed in one of the rooms upstairs (not sure on the other room numbers). They were both happy with their rooms as well. All were of a very generous size. Some reviewers mention that the toilets on some rooms don't have doors. In our room at least it is a sort of cubicle in the corner which is an odd arrangement at first I'll admit, but just not what you are used to. Posed absolutely no problems, and being enclosed, it isn't as though you're in full view whilst sitting on the loo or anything like that. There is no dedicated car park, but plenty of off-road parking available on Hoge Wieltjesgracht. The market square is just an easy 5min walk away, with the Menin Gate just under 10mins walk away. I'd definitely recommend visiting it in the evening when the local fire brigade perform The Last Post - highly poignant. During our visit, the market square was holding a bustling winter market which was an added bonus. Nice mulled wine along with some to-die-for waffles! All in all a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadbackwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for B&B Demi Lune
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Peter was a fantastic host along with his wife they made us very welcome during our 4 night stay, peter took time to talk to us about where to go and best places to visit, rooms were big and comfy and beds were excellent. There was a choice of full english or continental breakfast which were both superb, B&B is only 5 mins away from Ypres market square and parking is good we hope to go back next year for the 100 yr anniversary of ww1

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had to stay here at the last minute as our reservation at B&B Afrodite was cancelled by the owners (apparently they have a history of this). The host, Peter was very friendly, and offered lots of recommendations. The rooms were spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable for European standards. The only downside was that the room (101) overlooked the road and there was a bit of road noise. The breakfast was incredible, and they made us fresh eggs and bacon! Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simms327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was stylish, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great - ther was a choice between continental and full English.
The location is very handy - just 5 minutes from the market square. Ample free parking.
For a very warm welcome and a home away from home you cannot do better than stay at the Demi Lune.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swetaketu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Demi Lune with 6 friends for 2 nights and chose this B&B from the trip advisor rating. We have to agree with the comments made by others that this is a very nice B&B and that Peter the host was a charming and very helpful man. Breakfast was very good and cooked eggs, some of which are from Peters own chicken who lives at the bottom of the very nicely kept garden, were offered every morning along with bacon if you wanted it. The location was very good with the house only being 5 to 10 minutes walk from the Menen Gate and the town square. Free on road parking is available just around the corner. The rooms at the front of the house do experience some traffic noise over the cobbled street outside and the open plan rooms took a little bit of getting used to with the toilet not having a full separation from the main part of the bedroom. Overall a very good experience and we would definitely recommend the Demi Lune.

Room Tip: For a quieter room (no traffic noise) ask for a one at the rear of the house overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodleywanderer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Demi Lune is fairly newly opened in a brilliant position in the centre of Ypres, five minutes walk from the main square/Menin Gate but really quiet. Patrick's enthusiasm and eagerness to help are fantastic - he seems like a man who is truly happy in his vocation! Breakfast was amazing, the rooms were very clean and comfortable - a touch quirky with the en-chambre rather than en-suite bathrooms, but you can clearly see what they're like on the website, so no suprises. All the family members we met were very friendly. I have found that it can be a bit difficult to find really good places to stay in Ypres so this is a gem of a discovery. I would recommend it to anyone, in fact I did, the very next day when we met some wandering Canadians further south! Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmaduke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Demi Lune is well positioned only minutes walk from the centre of Ypres. Run by Peter and wife Greta the rooms are well proportioned and maintained to a high standard. The full English breakfast, with local produce is a hearty start to the day and should not be missed. The hosts are welcoming and very, very helpful with local advice and always happy to help their guests with any requests. At first sight parking may be a problem, BUT we found it was not a problem at all there is plenty of free parking in the local area and during our week long stay we never once had a problem finding a space. I usually prefer to stay in hotels and this was my first stay in a bed and breakfast. If the Demi Lune is an example of the bed and breakfast market I would definitely go B&B again.
I would recommend the Demi Lune most wholeheartedly and compliment Peter and Greta on the service they offer to their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVBUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.9 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Demi Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Demi Lune

Address: Diksmuidestraat 97, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $106 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Demi Lune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Demi Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing