We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy we found it”
Review of B&B Ter Vesten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Ter Vesten
Ranked #13 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very happy we found it”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

this b&b was just outside of the town square, approximately 10 minute walk to everything. While not exactly right in the centre, we were extremely happy with the room and the amenities provided (a wonderful terrace directly off our room delighted my husband). Magda was a very gracious host, and the breakfast was more than substantial. We anticipate returning to Ieper in the near future and will definitely return to this B&B.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose the ground floor room if I could help it, it is very close to the front door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable, The upstairs rooms had access to a roof top patio, tables and chairs and sun loungers were available. The breakfast was to everyones taste, full English or continental (everything from fruit to salmon, yummy) If you have problems with stairs (which were very steep spiral steps) there are some downstairs room with access to a lovely garden where you can sit out and have your breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have any problems with mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

B&B Ter Vesten is located in a very quiet area of Ieper. It is a short walk into the main area of town and the Menin Gate. (10 minutes at a stroll) There is parking available along the street with no time limits.

We had one of the two upstairs rooms which opened out onto the terrace which, in turn overlooked the beautiful garden. Our room was really like a small apartment, two double beds, dining table and kitchen area and clean. The room was very comfortable (although our bed was quite squeaky). The bathroom was small, and the towels were more like hand towels. don't get me wrong, none of this was problematic for us but some may be disappointed in these small details. The power shower was fantastic! And plenty of hot water.

As everyone else has mentioned, breakfast was unbelievable. Huge variety and plenty of everything. Our hostess, Magda was a lovely lady, and although none of our party spoke Flemish, and her English was almost non existent, we all had fun trying to converse together.

It was an easy drive in and out of town from this location to the significant sites of WW1.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Although we really liked our room and the terrace area, the climb up the outside spiral staircase is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b00bytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for five nights to visit Ieper and the Flanders battlefields. Excellent location, easy walking distance to the Cloth Hall and the Menin Gate. Very friendly and hospitable hosts. There was always a wonderful selection for breakfast. The accomodation was quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLBK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at this place for my last night in Ieper after travelling around the region for 4 days as it seemed quite handy to all places of interest. This indeed proved to be the case.It was worth staying here for the breakfast alone which would have to be one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in either a B&B or Hotel in over 25 years of travelling around the world.
Obliging hosts,very clean overall and comfortable bed with relatively quiet surroundings meaning a good nights sleep was assured.Smallish bathroom but this was not a major drawback as most bathrooms in Europe are not exactly huge. Would definitely recommend Te Vesten especially for singles or couples as the place to stay in Ieper

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room which was very quiet so this would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiflyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brilliant hosts, brilliant accommodation, brilliant breakfasts. Magda was very accommodating, nothing was a problem, very relaxed atmosphere, very lovely lady. We stayed 4 nights in room 2 which had its own door out on to the terrace with tables and chairs, lovely to sit out on a sunny evening with a glass of wine after a long day. We felt very relaxed in this peaceful area. Breakfast was served in the kitchen with an enormous amount of food - all kinds of various breads/buns/croissants together with no less than 6 of Magda's home-made jams (delicious!!), meats, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals - and if you have a good appetite bacon & eggs too!! Extremely good location, going under the 'Rampart Gate' take first left following the road around to the B&B, plenty of free street parking. Room was very clean and towels replaced every day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank you so much for allowing us in to your beautiful home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is an excellent B&B and I've stayed here on a number of occasions. It's a beautiful house in its own right, with lovely guest-rooms. The B&B is located in a quiet street within easy walking distance of the Railway Station, the Lille Gate and the main square, the Grote Markt. Magda provides a warm welcome and also offers the best breakfasts I've ever had in Ypres! B&B Ter Vesten is certainly a place to return to, as I have done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellfire2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hortensia
B&B Hortensia
#5 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juliette's B&B
Juliette's B&B
#12 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ter Vesten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ter Vesten

Property: B&B Ter Vesten
Address: Arsenaalstraat 4, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Ter Vesten 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Ter Vesten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing