We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here during Battlefields Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stayed here during Battlefields Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Overall a very good stay. We had a room in the new section of the hotel and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is situated in the centre of town opposite the Cloth Market and Museum. Breakfast was excellent and the service at all times was impressive. I would be pleased to recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    51
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel about 6 years ago and what a transformation Kris and Saskia have made to this hotel. The bedroom was first class, beautifully appointed overlooking the Cloth Hall in the main square. Our bedroom was spacious and well equipped with flat screen TV and coffee maker, the bathroom had a small feel and the over the bath hand held shower was the only negative I could comment on. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh coffee was continuously served by a most attentive waiter. The hotel is most convenient for the "Last Post Ceremony" being but a short walk from the Menin Gate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melrosemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This lovely old hotel is right on the main square in Ieper. We had an all inclusive package through a local tour company. The hotel was reconstructed after World War1, so the design is interesting. Our room had recently been refurbished, spotlessly clean, lovely bed and luxurious linens. The owners Kris and Saskia attended to our every need. It was a lovely experience. The food was fantastic, in particular the breads baked in house, the coffee, the desserts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilastravels064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in a fantastic and interesting location. Our double room had a view directly onto the square. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The breakfasts were varied with lovely fresh rolls. The bed was amazing comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The night we arrived it was very slow being booked in, as there was no one on reception. This was the only down point of the stay. Our room was clean and very spacious. We looked out on to the Markt and the beautiful Museum. Chris the Hotel owner/manager was a very good host. The waiter at breakfast gave us very good service. Breakfast was good, with lots of tea, coffee and juice being offered. Lovely seating area in the front of the hotel to have a drink and watch the world go by. If you are driving, they have a private car park to park your car. Would stay here again as it is so central and the hospitality good.

Room Tip: Room 22 looks on to the Markt Square, opposite the Museum. We loved this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyd653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband, brother-in-law & myself had booked one night in this hotel on the 16th Sept. so we could experience the 8pm 'Last Post' at the Menin Gate that we had heard about - we soon realised that we wanted to stay in this beautiful town more than one night & the Hotel Regina was for us the perfect place to stay. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff - both rooms were very spacious, clean with very comfortable beds. Ours had a great view of the
beautiful Cloth Hall , Flanders Museum & fountains opposite. That night when we went to ask about the possibility of staying an extra night our host Saskia could not have been more obliging & helpful & although we had to change rooms for the second night it was not a problem at all - we went out for the day & returned to find all our luggage had been moved to our new room - wonderful! Breakfast was very good & staff were very attentive. All in all a great stay for us & hosts Saskia & Kris were very hands on & more than happy to assist in any way they could.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights this month as one of a party of eleven. We all loved it! Breakfast was really good, with endless topping- up of orange juice, tea and coffee, with lovely bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, fruit and cereals as well as cheese, ham and eggs. Breakfast is my favourite meal and this hotel's is better than most. The owner and staff were lovely, with the owner hopping into the car on our first night to show us where to park it safely and giving us an insight into the hotel's history the next day as we enjoyed breakfast. Its location is excellent and is a perfect location for the WW1 sites as well as the Menin Gate and the town of Ieper itself. We would happily recommend this hotel and will definitely return to it ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Market. Some rooms overlook a courtyard and may be dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Postscript2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing