We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and enjoyable stay”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
1 review
“Very relaxing and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My brother and I decided to go to Belgium to learn more about world war one, I am so pleased that I chose to go to Ieper and The Albion Hotel in particular. The staff in the hotel made us both feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The hotel was very clean, relaxing and spacious. I would definitely like to return and would not hesitate to stay at the Albion Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    174
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
129
288
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Albion Hotel - very relaxing experience. Both times, we needed a family room which was accommodated very easily by the hotel staff. We were made very welcome: it was a spacious room which included a double bed and two singles (ages of children were 9 and 11). The bathroom was modern and clean - a lovely hot shower. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of food! As a family of four it is much more affordable to stay in a hotel this way, as normally without a family room we have to pay for two doubles. The lounge downstairs is spacious with comfy settees and English newspapers. Bottom line, as a mum always worried about behaviour of children etc, we couldn't have been made more welcome. We will return!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My first stay at this hotel was in the autumn of 2000.Since then I have visited many times and enjoyed my stay.Christiane and her staff have always been friendly and helpful.I rate this hotel as excellent and look forward to my next visit. Peter Bardwell.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermunmunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2010

On arrival, we received a warm, friendly and informative welcome. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean . All members of staff were efficient, polite and friendly. The breakfast was good and the Hotel ideally located. We were particularly impressed by the library of
first World War reference books and others of general interest. This is an elegant Hotel very efficiently managed by Christiane. We shall definitely stay again when next in Ypres.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I spent 2 nights at the Albion Hotel whilst travelling through the WW1 battlefields.

I arrived, exhausted, after a computer crash at my originating airport made me several hours late. I was greeted warmly, checked in quickly and given a map and some recommendations on activities and restaurants. They even minded a park outside the hotel while I moved my car.

My room was clean and comfortable, and compared to most European hotel rooms, the bathroom was enormous. Importantly, the heating was already turned on at the very start of October.

This was possibly the nicest hotel (overall) I stayed at in my 6 weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

From the moment you walk into the hotel you are made very welcome, The members of staff were freindly and helpfull during our stay. The continental breakfast was first class. and the accomodation was to a very high standard.
The hotel is situated just off the main square and within 5mins walking distance to Menin Gate providing you don't stop to look at the lovely Belgium chocolate shops.
We are looking forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Drove into the lovely town of Ypres and had the Albion hotel on my list but had difficulty in finding it. It didn't seem to be in the right place according the tourism map- Stumbled on it but glad we did. Wonderfully helpful owner

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing