We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New room just great and hotel close to Menin Gate and Flanders Fields Museum”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our tour group stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a good location for walking to the evening ceremony at Menin Gate, walking along the ramparts, walking to Flanders Fields Museum, and walking to shops and restaurants in the main square. Our bus dropped us off at the hotel's entrance, so I can't comment about parking facilities. This small hotel - I think our tour group used up all the rooms - is located on a quiet side street where the buildings were all quite close together in a traditional way. Knowing that the building was very old, I was concerned, but I need not have been. There was an elevator to access upper floors. While not all rooms have been redone, the room we had was one of the new additions. I could smell the sawdust in the hallway, the addition was that new. Our spacious room, Room 211, had 2 cross facing windows with a large bathroom, a small fridge, TV, coffee facilities, in-room safe, comfy twin beds with duvets, and in room temperature and A/C control. It was done up in restful gray tones, quite a modern decor. Even the door key was one of those card keys most hotels now have. However, my husband missed not having access to in-room wifi that the other rooms in the hotel had. When we were in this room, wifi wiring had not yet been installed we were told. The modern bathroom had a spacious shower stall and rainfall shower head. Not all rooms were this nice I noticed when I peeked into one that the maid was cleaning since it had not been renovated. Breakfast, included with the room in our tour package, was available just for guests - it's not a restaurant open to the public. The tables, set for 2 or 4 in the breakfast room, looked welcoming with white starched linens. Dishes used at each table were Villeroy china! The substantial breakfast buffet counter included hot and cold items, breads, deli and cheese, yogurt, fruit, juices, and even boiled eggs. A cook at the counter insured your eggs were done the way you wanted them. This room, when not used as a breakfast room, became a sitting room, reading and games room, and bar area. Shelves in this room were stacked with books, some in English, some about the wars, some travel books. There may have been a computer in the corner here for guests to use. The girls in the reception room and those waiting at the tables spoke English very well and were not shy to speak to guests. This hotel has a European atmosphere and hospitality. It is a hotel with character and our enjoyable stay here results in me giving it a good recommendation for other travelers.

Room Tip: Our room was room 211 if you want twin beds in a new room recently added to the hotel. Wifi may have...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Albion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 821 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I wanted to visit Ypres and the Menin Gate and this hotel is really well placed being just a few minutes away. I really have nothing bad to say about the place. The two ladies I spoke to at the desk were both really helpful and pleasant. The hotel is calm and unhurried. The room was simple but clean and everything worked. I only ate breakfast there but that was quite some spread. I'd be more than happy to stay at the Albion again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SundodgingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Albion, under the expert and meticulous supervision of its owner, Christine, never fails to impress. It gets top marks for friendliness, cleanliness, efficiency, service, hospitality.- and location. Which is why regulars, like me, return year after year, again and again. The hotel is adding new rooms which will be a boon to tour operators who prefer the charm of the personal touch to the antiseptic ambience of the Novotel across the road. But be warned, you will be disappointed to hear that the brothel opposite the Albion seems to have closed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent hotel ideally placed for the Menin Gate and close to plenty of nice restaurants. There were over 30 of us staying, and the staff were obviously experienced in dealing with large parties as it all went very smoothly. The staff were incredibly helpful and efficient and all speak English really well. Breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some very smart new rooms on the top floor although you can't see out of the skylight windows
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Recently 4 of us, 2 couples, spent 3 nights at the Albion Hotel in Ypres.
From the moment of arrival to the day of departure the hospitality and warmth of welcome by all the staff shone through. Centrally located for the town centre , bars , restaurants and Flanders Museum. The Menin Gate with it's moving evening ceremony is also an easy walk from the hotel.
Hotel staff were knowledgable on the history and locations of various memorials, cemeteries and the whole WW1 sad story. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it's amenities to anyone. Thank you Albion Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the recently appointed new accommodation which was of an excellent standard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here to witness the service at Menin Gate, which was just a few streets away from the Albion. Staff were welcoming and rooms were both spacious and spotless, despite being older. The buffet breakfast, which was included in our stay, was generous with cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, meat and cheese. We would recommend this hotel to those wishing to experience the ceremony at Ypres. One tip would be to arrive at Menin Gate at least an hour before the service to have any hope of a view. It was certainly crowded. The Albion is also a good choice for exploring the memorial at Polygon Wood, which was incredibly moving.

Room Tip: Our room, on level 2, did seem to have 'thin walls', with conversation from adjoining rooms...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Keith & Hazel, Isleworth

We stayed at the Albion for three nights before going on to Bruges. Great location, room and breakfast and above all, one of the most welcoming hotels we've stayed in. The staff we're wonderfully helpful. We hadn't booked a battlefields tour in advance (top tip - MUST book in advance), but we did eventually find one for the third day we were there. Unfortunately, they made a mistake on the booking and contacted us through the hotel. One of the two women (really sorry, forgotten their names) who run the hotel then phoned round and found us another tour that had had a cancellation. A star! If you're going to Ieper, stay at the Albion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KEITHHAZEL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing