We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family run hotel”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great family run hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Family owned and run - quite a rarity! So friendly and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfast, no dinner option but it is just off the main square and around the corner from the Menin Gate so couldnt be better placed.
Spotless and quiet.

Peter and Brigitt

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skibiker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    173
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
128
283
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Central location, clean comfortable rooms, very friendly staff who take the time and trouble to look after their quests. Motorcycles welcome, last vist in May 2013 and staying again in November. No restaurant, however just ask at reception and they will recommend you one and book the table for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August 2013 for B&B and found it to be a fab hotel! I booked through Trivago with a great deal and we stayed in the attic rooms (which must be the cheaper rooms). But we found both rooms to be immaculate with ample space, tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely view of the church opposite. There is a working lift so my elderly relatives found being on the top floor no problem at all. All staff were very friendly and the breakfast had a large choice of fruit, cereals, pastries etc. and offer picnics for day time trips so we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere to stop for lunch while sightseeing. There is free parking by the roadside but is also opposite a car park that you need to pay for.

The hotel is very easy to find as it is very close to the central square and only two streets away from the Menin Gate (but a lot of Ypres is a one-way system so is quite stressful negotiating in a car)! It is also worth noting that Ypres' roadways are cobbled so I would recommend against wearing high heels or slack footwear to walk around the town!

This hotel is labelled as a 3 star hotel but we found it to be a very high 4/5 star - definitely recommended and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST CYR L ECOLE
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff was really nice, friendly, personal, accesible, discrete, fast, ...
Nice location. Good bed. Large, clean room. No noise from neighbours nor street noise (even though we had the street on two sides of our room).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_real_pers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent hotel. Large comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms. Spotlessly clean. Good continental breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. On street parking easily available. Very good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I were travelling to Sth Belgium and Nthrn France to explore the battlefields of WW1. We were recommended by a friend to stay in Ieper and most particularly the Albion Hotel. We initially corresponded by email with Ruth who also made recommendations for other hotels in areas we were travelling onto and sightseeing recommendations. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is in a quiet location yet a very short walk to the town centre. Staff were superb. Rooms are bright and comfortable. For those travelling with a car there is secure off street parking at the rear of the hotel. We have already recommended the Albion to friends who are traviling to Ieper in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with the friendly service and good position of this hotel. If I had to pick them up on something it would be the poor lighting over the bathroom mirror.

It was a welcome bonus to get free wifi and BBC1 and 2.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tickhillwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing