We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea of tranquility”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Exellent staff and location.Can do attitude if the staff is worth of mentioning.Safe place to park motorbike is additional plus. Hence the town seems to be rather safe place anyway.Fift star comes when eggs and bacon is included into breakfast.

Thank HanJuh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 853 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight... Had we of known how lovely it was, we would have stayed longer. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was huge. Bathroom was huge. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was no a/c but there was a fan which helped keep us cool while sleeping. The location is great, just a short 5min walk to the town square and Menin Gate. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossy8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location with easy on road parking outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide selection. Rooms were very clean and most comfortable.Would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely hotel on a side street, one hundred yards from Menin Gate.
Lovely room,very clean plenty of storage space,good sized bathroom with overhead shower.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful.The continental breakfast was excellent,well presented and well served.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenaCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and just wot the dr ordered. We were fortunate enough to book this hotel, if I was coming back to ypres this would be my first choice. Well done
the Albion

Room Tip: Ask for a room if possible looking onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this hotel in the centre of Ypres for three nights because of its location and also many recommendations. We were not disappointed. We had a large double room with plenty of wardrobe space and good sized shower on suite. The staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jofen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Ypres and the surrounding battlefields and have tried many of the hotels in Ypres but some how managed to miss the Albion until now. I only wish I had found this establishment earlier.

Very close to the Menin Gate and just off the main square its position is perfect. Parking is a bit of a challenge everywhere in Ypres however the Albion has its own small car park.

Located in a beautifully restored old building it is just a lovely place to stay. Staff are endlessly helpful and it shows that the family who own it run it.

Excellent cold buffet for breakfast served in most pleasant surroundings with real linen table cloths, tea and coffee delivered to your table in pots and an attentive waitress.

Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. There is high speed WiFi. Rooms do not have air conditioning but each has a fan.

I have already enquired about my next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caddington_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing