We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WW1 Battlefield and Memorial visit.”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WW1 Battlefield and Memorial visit.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

For our recent visit to Ypres and the WW1 Battlefields we chose this private hotel very close to the central square and we could not have been happier with our choice. Ruth and her family extended a very warm welcome to us giving plenty of helpful advice regarding restaurants, places to go and how to get there. The room was quiet, comfortable, clean and well equipped with an excellent en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi. A splendid breakfast set us up well for the day.
The hotel car park is a little small at present with a narrow access but plans are afoot to improve this. There is, however, currently plenty of free parking in the road and around St. Jacobs church opposite. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    179
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
130
294
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Another great stay at the Albion and the wonderful city of Ypres. This hotel is in the best location in the centre of Ypres and within easy access to a huge selection of restaurants and of course just round the corner is the stunning Menin Gate.

The rooms are so comfortable and incredibly clean. Since our last visit they have had flat screen televisions installed and although you don’t spend a lot of time in your room, it does make a difference to the feel of the room. There are quality white towels in spacious bathrooms and the beds have white linen on beautifully soft pillows and duvet cover. There is a well stocked tea tray and to go with that cup of tea, visit the most wonderful bakers just a few yards down the street – they also do great filled rolls or toasted sandwiches to take away.

As it is a family run hotel the staff at the Albion go that extra mile to make your stay an enjoyable experience and makes it stand out from a hotel chain.

If visiting Ypres, I recommend the Albion. I’m already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

2 nights in Ypres in this lovely family run hotel. Excellent room with large flatscreen TV and very clean bathroom. Breakfast was just perfect and the service of this family is just unrivaled. We visited the new flanders fields museum which is just 200m away from the hotel.

And compared to last time the wifi is much faster, it's free and in every room. Just what you need on any trip to check the news etc on your tablet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dries v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break in Ypres, visiting WW1 sites, with family members. Albion was the perfect hotel for us, quiet, friendly, accommodating with a fantastic position. Free car parking in the street outside hotel, free wi-fi, only a few minutes walk from the Menem Gate and very close to main square with a variety of restaurants available. Just perfect. We would certainly return to the Albion and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lovely hotel with nice staff. Peaceful rooms with good facilities an ideal location the walk into the centre of Ypres or go out and see the battlefields. We parked on street with no problem. Never found the hotel car park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stlo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The TV and wifi worked well. Its location was on a side street so was quiet during the night but all of Ypres seemed to use the road in the morning. Luckily the breakfast was worth it in quality and quantity. They also have a very good library in the dining /sitting area with a focus on WW1 era and battlefields - a very good resource beyond the normal tourist brochures.
It is within easy walking distance to Menin Gate and its nightly ceremony (the staff described the best place to stand). Its also convenient to the market square and all the eateries around it. Again the staff were helpful in pointing out the better valued ones. The only downside to its location is that it is on the opposite side of the town to the railway station.
Bikes can be hired at the Ambrosia Hotel on the next corner - a very convenient way to get around the town and battlefields (yes really). The region has a great network of bike routes that enable you to cycle safely off main roads. Maps are available from the tourist office.
Another minus is that it is expensive for what it is but this appears to be common to all the hotels here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have recently return from a stay at the Albion Hotel, my husband is wheelchair dependant and we find the facilities in the disabled room excelent, plenty of room to get the wheelchair around, handrails in the bathroom and a seat for the shower. We have stayed several times before but had not been for 5yrs every thing was as we remembered, clean,tidy well looked after rooms, very pleasent owners and staff, and of course lovely breakfast. We had friends with us this visit and said they understood why we always stay here when in Ypres. We are looking forward to returning after their building work is done, but feel sure they wont spoil the great hotel they have. Karen and David Elias. Dorset

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing