We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant hotel”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here - well situated pleasant hotel, nice rooms, breakfast was fine. Managed to park in hotel car park - though it gets locked after dark so useful to know if you want to us your car in the evening. Would have liked to have a more active reception desk rather than it being tucked away. There is no restaurant inthe hotel but pleanty of choice near bu . We ate at the Het Zilveren hoofd - De Ecurie restaurant which I can't recommend enough - worth going toi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian581951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 848 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Close to the centre and The Menin Gate with easy parking close by. Room was very clean with everything we needed, hairdryer, tea making etc also free wifi. Bar and lounge area with books to help with your visit and free computer access. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent one night at the very central Albion Hotel. It is a few minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the Grote Markt. Ypres is difficult to drive around, all one way streets and, when we visited, lots of roadworks blocking the already narrow streets. If you plan to arrive by car, it is worth doing a bit of research beforehand to find out how you get to the Hotel. The Albion does have a small car park with a very narrow entrance, but apparently the owners are negotiating for more car parking space. Our room was small but beautifully furnished and had a large bathroom with a bath as well as a shower. At 143 euros it seemed good value for such a central Hotel. The Hotel is quiet and well managed and seems to cater mainly for the more mature guest. The staff were very helpful and professional and, unsurprisingly in a town which has many British visitors, they all speak excellent English. The buffet breakfast was good though unexceptional, and was served in a large room which is also a very comfortable lounge, bar and library, and there is masses of information available about the town and the WW! museums and sites. We thought The Albion was an excellent base and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargueriteBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booking this hotel on the basis of its Tripadvisor rating (proudly displayed in reception) I was not disappointed. After a fraught time trying to find our way there - not the hotel's fault, but the whole of Belgium seems to be being resurfaced and every third street - most of them one-way - is closed in Ieper for some reason (sorry - rant over) we were met with a smiling receptionist who answered our every query and reassured us regarding parking, which is available free of charge nearby if you know where to look. We had two single en-suite rooms and mine was in the roof of the annexe, which was not as inconvenient as it sounds but was up its own private staircase, and so very quiet. Rooms were very clean - spotless, in fact - and the buffet style breakfast was good.
We were surprised that the bar/library area was not more frequented by guests in the evening, as it was very comfortable after a dinner in the market place and the very moving Menin Gate Ceremony at 8pm. A good hotel - would certainly use it if (or rather when) I return to Ieper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasco65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel lived up to recommendation we received from a friend. Previously deterred by the on street parking we found that this was not a problem always finding parking near to the hotel during our 4 night stay. We received a warm welcome and found that all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, a good size and well serviced. The breakfast table offered a plentiful selection and was very well presented.
A very enjoyable stay at a well located hotel, ideal for visits to the Great War Battlefields and the Menin Gate "Last Post Ceremony".

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay .The rooms were comfortable, clean and generously roomy. The breakfast was excellent. The owners were charming and very generous. My husband was unwell and they allowed him to stay in our room for the rest of the day at no extra charge and if it meant it would be missed by the cleaners she would 'clean it herself'! Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is about 200 meters from the 'Grote Markt', the center of Ypres. It has a private (free) parking behind the hotel. Rooms are rather small, but clean and efficient, but rather sober furnished. Beds are good. The bathroom has a shower and is clean. There is a bar, which is not (at least during my stay) used much, so for meeting people you have to go out.
Staff is friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing