We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent- location-service-comfort”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel deserves a great rating, its staff were very friendly and very helpful. The location couldn't be better, a short walk to the main square and to the Menin Gate Memorial, especially great to attend the Last Post Service in the evening. Parking was no problem either. The bathroom is well appointed with a good shower recess, the bed was very comfortable. A lovely place to stay. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone who needing a Hotel in Ypres.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bern56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Albion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 821 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well what can i say?
In my personal opinion "The Albion Hotel" is faultless.
Myself and my colleague arrived with two of our clients,one of which has a physical disability and were taken back by the courtesy,friendlyness and politeness shown by the hotel staff to my party,they couldnt do enough for us.
The rooms were exceptional and fully accessible that not only met our clients needs but enhanced their independance as well.
The continental breakfast was fresh and well presented and once again the service was impeccable.
As a result we have come back six weeks later to the same room and incredibly friendly and helpful staff.
This time we required a tour and not only did the staff take the time out to ensure that our tour was tailormade,but rang around all of the local tour guides on our behalf to ensure that our parties needs were catered for,which they were.
If you are looking for a spotlessly clean,friendly relaxed hotel ( with the best pillows that you have ever rested your head on ) look no further,and should any of your party have a physical disability?then room 101 with its wet room its absolutely perfect.
The location makes it literally 3minutes walk from the centre of town and 5minutes from the Menin gate where the last post happens every night at 8pm.
The Albion Hotel has added to the wonderful experience of visiting Ypres and not only will we be using them again in the near future, but highly recommending them to anyone wishhing to visit Belgium.

Stuart Barber

Room Tip: If any of your party has a physical disability?then room 101 and it's spaceous layout and wetroo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Many thanks to the Albion Hotel. We could only stay the one night but the welcome from the team was warm, friendly and inviting. Everything was perfect for our short stay.

Hotel is situated just 3 minutes walk down the beautiful cobbled street to the main square & Menin gate so location is ideal. Free street parking outside and the hotel provides free wifi.

Special mention to Kimberley who was extremely pleasant, polite and most helpful.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning next time we're in Ypres.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David_Lisa_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I work as a Battlefield Guide for Remembrance Travel (part of the Royal British Legion) and Spirit of Remembrance a new tour company. From 21-25 October 2012 I took a party of retired Royal Navy officers and their wives and a Lt Col RM and his wife to the Western Front - Ypres, Vimy Ridge and the Somme. They all had high expectations of their accommodation on the tour.
I started the tour in Ypres and having stayed at the Albion several times over a period of seven years wanted to take the party to the hotel. It is an excellent B&B in all respects - 'nice' and comfortable rooms with a TV that works and receives the English channels, quiet, well set out and with a staff team supporting Christiane to the hilt. They are friendly and helpful at all times. Christiane recommended two restaurants that I had not been to before - Old Tom in the Grosmarkt and nearby (5-6 minutes) Ecurie which was marginally better.
I cannot recommend the Albion highly enough with the family touch to running the hotel that makes all the difference.
Johnny Walker
Brigadier
Battlefield Guide
28 October 2012

Room Tip: Any room is good but it is easier for obvious reasons to be on the first floor - lift to take up bag...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Albion for one night in September 2012 as part of an organised WW1 battlefields tour. It was convenient and spotlessly clean. Others have mentioned the friendliness of the owners and staff as well as the indulgent bathrooms and fabulous food and I must concur. Could not fault this hotel. Access great, two or three steps at front then lifts to floors.

Room Tip: Close to Menin Gate, town square (with Cotton Hall) and restaurants and shops. A relaxing little pa...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here three nights the end of Sept. Had room on the front of hotel, the bed was extremely comfortable, had extra pillows and blankets if needed, tea and coffee making facilities. Could not fault hotel, was extremely clean, great bathroom and breakfast was plentiful. The staff were great and really pleasant. Also it was in a great location and within walking distance to shops,restaurants,bars and Menin Gate. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiser_540958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

One couldn’t fault the Albion Hotel in Ypres – the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The bathroom was unusually large – ask for room 205 if you like a lot of bathroom space. The shower was powerful and hot water was never a problem. Although room 205 overlooks the street we were never bothered with noise even though we had the window open when sleeping.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice, along with bowls of freshly boiled eggs. At the time of booking I informed the hotel that my wife is a celiac. The Albion went to great lengths to supply various items of gluten free bread / croissant etc for my wife’s breakfast. When we checked out we were given a small parcel containing that day’s remaining gluten free items for my wife to eat later in the morning on the Eurostar. This type of service and thoughtfulness just seems to come naturally at the Albion.
The hotel is located a short walk to the centre of town and the Menin Gates. We only stayed two nights, but I wished it could have been longer, the attention to the needs of their guests without going over the top was just ‘right’.

Room Tip: Ask for room 205
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing