We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Travelling with a child with a disability is never easy but nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. Wonderful location in a fascinating town with an extraordinary and moving history. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Fantanele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 848 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2008

Just had a 2 night stay in the Albion Hotel Ieper, Fantastic Service, excellent location a only a few minutes from the Historic Menin gate fabulous. Ideally situated to explore the battlefield areas. Tyne Cot and Sanctuary wood are a must and only a few minutes from this wonderful hotel by car. Thanks to The staff at the Albion and the friendly people of Ieper.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We were greeted by Christiane who made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble to ask. She even walked to show us the car parking area. Our double room was comfortable but due to a problem with the heating was only warm (the outside temp was in the minus). But there were spare blankets and pillows. The Albion is very well situated being just off the main square and in easy walking distance of the Menin Gate and shops. There is ample information available and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the lounge and breakfast area very inviting. Will definately be booking to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ1TAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

When you enter the Albion Hotel you sense immediately that the owners have an eye for stylish detail. The carpets and furniture are of good quality, offset by well-chosen wallpapers, curtains and paint colours. The high-ceilinged bedrooms are spotlessly clean with good-sized en suite facilities. The dining room is both elegant and spacious. Breakfast is a fine continental buffet prepared and presented by friendly staff. As you move through the corridors, you are accompanied by a discreet soundtrack of soothing baroque-classical chamber music. The Albion is situated in the heart of Ypres, affording easy access to all that this elegant, historic city has to offer. The car park is private and secured behind locked gates. This is a gem of an hotel, characterised by good taste, good manners and well-priced rooms.
Nicholas Gleed, Hampshire, UK

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank eye4detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

What more can I say - this would have to be one of the best hotels we've stayed at. The service & staff were excellent, the rooms were so clean and well appointed, the bar and lounge (with internet access) were very welcoming after a days sighseeing. Breakfast was extensive and so fresh .

As others have said its location to the Menin gate and main square are big pluses. We arrived by train from Brussells and it was only a 10-15 minute walk thru quiet streets to the hotel.

The only criticism was the cost of internet access, you had to pay for 2hrs minimum, which was a bit much when all you want to do is check your emails - Christiane did say they were looking into this.

Make sure you give yourself another day when visiting this area just to spend time in Ieper itself to enjoy a Belgium beer sitting outside one of the delightful restaurants in the beautiful square.

The Albion is a great value for money hotel, and both it & Ieper will definitely be on our schedule for our next European trip.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

An excellent hotel, right in the centre of Ieper. Very near the Market Square (restaurants and shops), Flanders Fields Museum and just round the corner from the Menin Gate. It was freezing cold when I was there in November and it was great to come back to a nice warm and comfortable room. It was also great to find free and safe parking just across the road. Friendly and efficient service, and somewhere I would return to.

Couple of things about Ieper - at this time of year most of the restaurants are closed on Monday evening - don't know if that applies through the rest of the year; and none of the banks provide a Foreign Exchange service for cash - they expect you to withdraw cash using a credit card.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank statsmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I've stayed in Ieper four years in a row now at different hotels but the Albion is the best so far. My single room was clean tidy and with a new shower room. The breakfast was great with a large choice and big portions. The staff were very friendly one even printed off a map of Brussels for me. Am hoping to stay there again next year but it's booked up already!!! It's a great little hotel. Lee.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing