We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute delight”
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to Alsace and very pleased that we did. Everything good we read on Trip Advisor is true from the staff to the food in the restaurant. Good to be able to leave the car in a secure car park which we find essential on our trips. A short walk into the town itself and the memory of the Last Post ceremony at the Menen Gate will stay with us forever.Would we stay at this hotel again? - yes, we most certainly would.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good evening, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's nice to read that a stay with us was a nice start of your holiday on your way to the Alsace.
Our free car park is something a lot of our guests appreciate and it's certainly worth leaving your car there as it is only a 5-10 minutes walk into town!
I hope seeing you again in the near future! Kind regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    222
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
239
521
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great location, great staff. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Enough said. Thank you to all concerned we can't wait for our next visit.
Ypres itself is worth a couple of days to explore, ask the reception staff, not only will they advise you on places to visit they will give advice on timing and directions.
A must is the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate, get there early (7.30ish) for a good position. If you an emotional person take plenty of tissues.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good evening, the title of your review means so much to us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Giving you advice about nice places of interest, times, etc was done with great pleasure!
Ieper is a must to see in Flanders. I'm already looking forward to your next visit so we can let you help and discover so many other places in this historical part of Flanders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and myself have stayed at this hotel quite a few times, usually for a couple of nights, as a stopover to and from the continent.
The standards have never slipped. Indeed since our first visit some years ago they have improved the rooms and reception, and added a couple of conservatories. It's only a 5 minute walk to the centre.
This must be one of the best hotels for consistency of service
throughout. All the staff are cheerful, friendly and efficient. The receptionists
are second to none.
I had a problem with my car, and the breakdown assist number I had for it was a recording in Dutch & French. Reception assisted me in sorting it out, both with the recovery people and the garage it was taken to. They allowed us to check out a little later and use the residents lounge once we had checked out.
As I didn't have a working mobile phone I had to give the hotel number to both the recovery line and garage. Reception kept coming to me with their phone which provided me with updates and made the wait less frustrating. Their
patience must be endless!
One tip. Don't have too much bread before dinner, their portions are enormous!

Room Tip: We have had various rooms here and have not encountered any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest, it is difficult to answer your question! Here at the Ariane we are proud of the job we're doing! Reading all these nice comments on TripAdvisor give us all a boost to keep up the good work in the future!
Helping you with your car problem was done with great pleasure and we were so happy that at the end everything was fixed so you could have a safe journey back home.
Thank you for these kind words! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy to find useing streetview. Ample car parking in a central location. A thorough and sincere welcome at reception. A large clean comfortable well equipped modern room. common parts that were a pleasure to walk through. A light airy breakfast room, with a superior buffet breakfast, which only failed when it tried to do scrambled egg.

We hadn't realised how much we needed a relaxing break, or how long it was since we had had a break that was truly relaxing. This hotel did the job.

Room Tip: all good, perhaps top floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest, it's so nice to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to relax during your stay! This is what we try to achieve : that our guests can go home with a satisfactory feeling and this means we'll hopefully see you again in the future. Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I can not add to what superleeds22 and magpie1918 have already said good parking hotel clean all meals first-class (food must be good as locals use the restaurant )but do not worry there is a place for residents. Staff well they smile, talk in your language nothing is to much trouble if you need a hand or want to know any thing they are very helpful. rooms very pleasant bright clean well fitted out, we had 4 great nights so all I can say is a very big THANK you to all the staff and local people for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gouldenfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for these kind words! I'm so happy to see that you agree with the reviews of other TripAdvisor members. I hope this means, we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you here again with us in the future. Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my friends here and we received a warm welcome. It was lovely to see many familiar faces that I first saw on 2005.

Our rooms were well appointed and the service impeccable. The food was well presented and tasty.

Nothing was too much trouble and I'm happy to recommend the Ariane to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our third visit and we plan to return later this year.

Everything is first-class:

The staff are friendly yet very professional.

The hotel is modern yet comfortable.

The rooms are immaculate.

Food - breakfast, lunch or dinner - top class.

Car parking safe and convenient.

If you are going to be anywhere within 50 miles [or even further] of Ypres, try to get a room - it's excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperLeeds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good evening, your brief and clear review is sincerely appreciated! Thank you so much for sharing these words with the rest of the world! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Property: Hotel Ariane
Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariane 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing