We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Staff”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Ariane is a truly great Hotel The friendliness of the staff and the quality of the rooms, bar and restaurant are exceptional. It is ideally located, just a few minutes walk form the town square and The Menin Gate.
We have stayed a few times taking friends who have never visited Ypres and the Battlefields and without exception they have all enjoyed their stay.
The breakfast is plentiful and varied with continental and cooked dishes.
The Flanders Battlefield Tour company operate from the Ariane and are highly recommended both by us and others who have used them.
All in all the Ariane is the perfect place base for a Flanders tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your honest opinion about the hotel, the staff and our restaurant.
It's so nice of you to bring each time new friends with you. I'm sure that by now you're an excellent guide for them here in the area. Doing a Battlefield tour, exploring the historical centre of Ieper is a must indeed! I look forward to welcoming you hopefully here again soon! Kind regards, The entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    225
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
254
533
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have just returned from our second stay at the Ariane. Beyond a doubt the staff and their exceptional customer service make this hotel a 'must stay' venue. The hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable and within 5 minutes from the town centre. The fine dining restaurant is excellent and very reasonably priced particularly when compared with some of the other restaurants in town. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly stay there again. The hotel staff arranged our battlefield tours for us in advance and sent us details of the places we were to visit. Just an excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeegieQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest, reading the subject of your review makes the entire team proud of their job! Thank you for your kind words. I was happy to see you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, your stay with us and I do sincerely hope a third stay will follow soon....Best wishes,The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently spent just one night at this hotel and wished it could have been more.

A friend and I were in Ieper to to visit the grave of his Great uncle who lies in Lijssenthoek military cemetery some 12 kms away from the town.

We stayed in room 203 on the evening of 19th March and found everything to our liking.
The room was spotlessly clean, well furnished, well appointed and equipped with TV and tea /coffee facilities.

The hotel is very nicely situated in my view.

Just far enough away from the centre of Ieper so there are no noise or traffic problems but close enough to walk into town in around five minutes or so.

It also has an excellent bar and a restaurant which is apparently very popular with the local people, (always a good sign).

Breakfast is included in the room price and (unusually for the continent) a cooked breakfast is available as well as the usual continental fare.
This is no doubt much appreciated by British guests, (we do like our cooked breakfasts!).

I would also like to make special mention of the excellent customer service provided by staff on the hotel reception desk.

We had a major problem in getting to Lijssenthoek cemetery since it lies quite a way "off the beaten track" and there are no buses going anywhere near it.

We were however, able to hire a taxi to take us there and wait for an hour while my friend visited his relative's grave
Following the visit, we were then taken directly to the hotel.

This was pre arranged for us by the above mentioned reception staff before we arrived and is largely due to the efforts of Inne and her colleague Isabelle.
I managed to thank Inne personally but unfortunately, did not meet Isabelle due to our stay being very short.

I cannot speak too highly of the assistance given by the reception staff as nothing was too much trouble for them.

All in all, we had an excellent stay at the Ariane and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone thinking of visiting Ieper.

I shall probably return with my wife, who is very fond of Ieper, hopefully for a longer stay this time.

Many thanks, we had an excellent stay............

Room Tip: Room 203 is an excellent twin bedded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnyboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to describe your stay with us. we were really pleased to read this positive feedback and it really stimulates the entire team to keep up the good work in the future! I do hope that you'll be able to return with your spouse so we can have the pleasure of welcoming the two of you here again with us! Warmest regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by the tour operators we were travelling with so we didn't know what to expect. We got a very pleasant surprise. The hotel was spotlessly clean, quiet and although it was freezing outside the room was very comfortable. There was ample parking right outside and it was an easy walk to the main town. The breakfast was very tasty with plenty of choice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest, I'd like to thank you for your kind words! Reading all these positive aspects about the hotel puts a smile on our face! It would be an honour indeed for all of us to welcome you here again with us in the future! Warmest regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great hotel, spotlessly clean with a good size bathroom and very comfortable beds. The location is perfect with the centre being an easy five minute walk away and free parking was another big plus.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose it again if we ever go back to Ypres.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janks120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your brief and honest review! The hotel's free parking and the 5 tot 10 minutes walk to the Market Square are appreciated by a lot of our guests! Thank you for recommending us and I do hope indeed a next visit will follow! We would be proud that you choose to stay here again at the Ariane! Kind regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as our base for a first visit to the area. Wanted to visit the WW1 Battlefields area and there was also lots of memorabilia throughout the hotel.

The hotel is superbly situated just a few minutes walk away from the main square. We had a very comfortable room on the first floor in the newer part. TV with a few English stations; tea / coffee facilities and minibar (not that we used the minibar!). Large en-suite facility, all in very good clean condition.

Staff within the hotel all friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent with good choice of hot and cold food, all self-serve.

No hesitation in strongly recommending – will certainly stay there again when returning to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback about your experience here in the Ariane! These positive comments about the staf, the room facilities, breakfast, ....is what we like and try to achieve! I noticed you might be planning to come back and that you're certain to stay with us? Thank you so much and I can hardly wait to welcoming you here again with us! Warmest wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends for two nights in February, and really can't fault it. The location of the hotel is great - just five minutes walk from the centre, with lots of cafes and restaurants, as well as all the sites, within easy reach. There is also plenty of parking. The rooms themselves were spacious, clean and comfortable, with a mini bar, free safe, toiletries, hairdryer, tea/coffe-making facilities, pen and paper, etc. For those that spend long enough in their rooms, there were several English channels on the TV, and most of the rest seemed to be English programmes with Flemish subtitles! The staff at reception and in the bar were brilliant - they spoke perfect English and were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour. The hotel is full of war memorabilia, which gives it a quirky and interesting feel, and the private bar for residents is very welcoming, with comfortable sofas and a lovely 'open' fire. The little extras really made the difference - when we ordered hot chocolates, they came on a tray with a little chocolate, a madeleine cake and a small pot of Advocat! The breakfasts were delicious - everything was fresh (including the orange juice), there were bacon, beans and scrambled eggs for those who like a cooked breakfast, and the pastries and croissants were huge! Unfortunately, the restaurant was a little out of our price range, so I can't comment but, judging by the breakfast and the snack we had in the bar, it would have been worth it if our budget had stretched far enough! We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Ypres - I'd recommend it to anyone, especially for the price we paid (around £80 a night).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest, reading these comments makes me quiet and proud of the job we're doing here! Every time again we try to achieve perfection and your words mean a lot to us! Your appreciation for "little extra's" as the private residentidial area near the open fire, the extra's with your coffee...is done with great pleasure! The main thing is that you enjoy your stay with us! Thank you so much for sharing this! Warmest regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
503 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Property: Hotel Ariane
Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariane 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing