We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ariane hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ariane hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends for two nights in February, and really can't fault it. The location of the hotel is great - just five minutes walk from the centre, with lots of cafes and restaurants, as well as all the sites, within easy reach. There is also plenty of parking. The rooms themselves were spacious, clean and comfortable, with a mini bar, free safe, toiletries, hairdryer, tea/coffe-making facilities, pen and paper, etc. For those that spend long enough in their rooms, there were several English channels on the TV, and most of the rest seemed to be English programmes with Flemish subtitles! The staff at reception and in the bar were brilliant - they spoke perfect English and were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour. The hotel is full of war memorabilia, which gives it a quirky and interesting feel, and the private bar for residents is very welcoming, with comfortable sofas and a lovely 'open' fire. The little extras really made the difference - when we ordered hot chocolates, they came on a tray with a little chocolate, a madeleine cake and a small pot of Advocat! The breakfasts were delicious - everything was fresh (including the orange juice), there were bacon, beans and scrambled eggs for those who like a cooked breakfast, and the pastries and croissants were huge! Unfortunately, the restaurant was a little out of our price range, so I can't comment but, judging by the breakfast and the snack we had in the bar, it would have been worth it if our budget had stretched far enough! We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Ypres - I'd recommend it to anyone, especially for the price we paid (around £80 a night).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest, reading these comments makes me quiet and proud of the job we're doing here! Every time again we try to achieve perfection and your words mean a lot to us! Your appreciation for "little extra's" as the private residentidial area near the open fire, the extra's with your coffee...is done with great pleasure! The main thing is that you enjoy your stay with us! Thank you so much for sharing this! Warmest regards, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel is in a perfect location as close enough to the centre but far enough not to hear noise at night. The hotel was spotlessly clean. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had everything you would have in any hotel, bacon, eggs cold meats, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, jam, honey, fruit juices, coffee and a range of teas. Rooms have fridge safe, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer.

There are lots of WW1 memorabilia throughout the public areas which was really interwsting for our stay as we were visiting to do the battlefields tour.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndysBridgend_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to describe your stay here with us! I was happy to read your positive comments and recommendation to other readers! This is sincerely appreciated and I do honestly hope to welcome you here again with us in the near future! Warmest regards, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Hotel Ariane Ypres is a very modern and comfortable hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant as a very good menue, the food is excellant, and I cannot recomend this hotel enough,. I travelled to Belgium to do the Battle field tour with my family, and the whole stay was very enjoyable thanks largely to the Hotel Ariane and staff.Mrs K.Ellis Harlow.Essex.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kath e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for these nice words about the Ariane,its staff, the restaurant, ...Comments as these give the enitre team a boost to keep up the good work in the future! Combining your stay with a Batttlefield Tour is indeed the ideal way to learn more about the history of Ieper. Thank you for recommending our hotel to the other people of TripAdvisor! We hope to welcome you and all of them here with us in thte future. Best wishes, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent hotel in a lovely town very friendly and helpful staffideal location for visiting war graves etc eypres is a beautiful city and the citizens are helpful and very proud of their town it is kept spotlessly clean unlike most of the uk

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleybugs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your honest opinion about the hotel and our city of Ieper! I was happy to read you've enjoyed your stay and that the people in Ieper have made you feel at home here! We are indeed proud of our town and hope to welcome you and a lot of other people here with us in the future! Best wishes, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have just stayed at this hotel this week, what a lovely experience it was. The staff are amazing they are helpful and polite and very friendly. We were made to feel so welcome I would like to have stayed longer.
Right now there is work going on so it is a bit dusty but apart from that its perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamonkey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review about the hotel. We're so pleased you can describe your stay as a lovely experience, this is really appreciated! Your nice words about the staff give the entire team a boost to keep up the good work in the future. Perhaps if you wished to have stayed longer, it's the perfect reason to come back and stay with us again!? The renovation works are now finished and certainly worth a visit! Warmest wishes, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Since January, some of the rooms are newly renovated. Especially the bathrooms of the 3rd floor. The hotel is family run and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The restaurant offers fine cuisine and after a busy day (business or vacation) no longer have to leave the hotel. The selection is sufficient and the dishes are prepared in response. Even the subsequent night cap in the bar is quite recommendable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are equipped with shower. In the first and second floor with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback about the hotel. The renovation of 36 bathrooms has been completed and we're happy with the result. I was happy to read you've enjoyed your visit to the hotel, our restaurant and sincerely hope to welcome you here again with us in the future. Best wishes, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unfortunately we only stopped for the night on our way back to Calais. In the short time we had exploring the town it is now top of the list for a repeat short break.
The hotel is everything you want to find when travelling. Easy parking .. Great welcome .. Nice room .. Lovely bathroom .. Tea and coffee tray .. Comfy bed .. And finally the restaurant which was just the icing on the cake. Yes it seemed a bit pricey when we first read the fixed menu but it certainly came up to the mark. The food was nothing short of excellent from the complimentary small tasting portion of soup to the amazing desert and the coffee tray in the lounge was deserving of a photograph.
Would have received the top grade had not a niggling heating noise persisted from the heating vent. Fortunately after a long drive and a fantastic meal we still slept well. However it was still there the following early morning when we left . Reception have said it will be checked and fixed and I have every confidence it will.
Looking forward to our next visit .... The meal is worth the trip alone!

Room Tip: Mention the heating and request the room does not have any noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback about the hotel and restaurant. It's nice to read you've enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and the way it was presented! This really means a lot to us.
Sorry to hear about the small inconvenience with the noise but it was good to report this to reception and I'm sure the upmost will be done to have this situation sorted out. I look forward to your next visit as well and can hardly wait to welcoming you here again with us! Warmest regards, The Ariane team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariane hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariane hotel

Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $135 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariane hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ariane hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing