We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised bespoke battlefields tour. The checkin was seamless with very helpful and polite english speaking staff.
The rooms are neat, spacious, tidy, quite. The location is handy to the centre of town and the Menin Gate is only a 10 minute way away thru the centre of the town.
The hotel is tastefully decorated by memorabilia for WW1 with some interesting items on display in the various common areas of the hotel.
We did not try the restaurant, but stopped into the bar for a late night hot chocolate and Cafe Au Lait, which hit the spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest, these are the words we like to read on TripAdvisor! Your opinion about the staff, room does mean a lot to all of us! The items of the WWI in the hotel are a collection of many years, donated by regular guests. Visiting this area as part of a bespoke Battlefield tour is sometimes the ideal way to learn more about the history of this town! There is so much history in this small part of Belgium and only those who've been here know what the WWI has done and meant to the Ypres Salient! Certainly worth a visit!! Kind wishes and thank you so much! The Ariane team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    223
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
241
526
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We returned to the Ariane to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary and to say that our 3 night stay was good would not be truthful !!
It Was Superb !
From arrival to departure the welcome smiles from Reception to Bar/Dining Room and the Housekeeping members of staff made our visit and Anniversary one we will always remember with Fond and Happy memories !
The Ariane helped to arrange an afternoon`s pampering for the Wife in collusion with Myself and we managed to keep it all a secret till she actually arrived at the Spa centre , called Sunset Boulevard , the wife said it was one of her best spa treatments she has ever had !
We were blessed with some good weather and the rain only fell during the night ! thats good !
To ALL the staff at the Ariane " Thank You " for making our Anniversay so special for us !
To the Owner/Management " Bravo " for having such an high calibre of people on your staff !
You All have our Respect and Admiration !
Kenneth & Elizabeth

PS:During this visit Elizabeth , due to health problems , was using both a Wheelchair and a Mobility Scooter , all areas were readily accessable and the staff were most helpful with seating and access arrangments throughout our stay ! Again , " Well Done "

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorksCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam, it was an honour to have you celebrating your 40th Wedding Anniversay here with us in the Ariane! There's nothing much I can say just now...just THANK YOU for all these nice words! For us, the main thing is that this Wedding Anniversary was a unforgettable experience for the both of you! Can hardly wait and hope to seeing you again! Warmest wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed seven nights in September.Service ,food, staff at all levels were first class.Hotel was spotless ,had a superior double ,which was spacious and very comfortable.Great location and easy wallking distance to the wonderful town of Ypres.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Good evening, each time again it feels so nice to see our guests give our the highest rating on TripAdvisor! I hope you've been able to visit all the curiosities you planned to see during your 7 days in this area and if not...you're more than welcome to come back and hopefully stay with us then? Once again, we would do our upmost to make this stay, one you treasure forever! Warmest regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed five nights in September. Hotel was spotless and our room was spacious and included a large sitting area which was nice after the cramped conditions at our previous (and more expensive) stop. It was convenient to the centre of Ieper and handy for all of the sights and attractions. We were visiting cemeteries and memorials and the hotel was easily accesible from all directions. We ate here on the final evening and wished we had done so earlier - extremely good produce expertly prepared. Breakfast was a bit of a let down by comparison - standard fare and little chopice of hot food. Disappointingly much of the crockery at breakfast was either chipped or less than clean - hence the four rather than a five. Staff were unfailingly courteous and extremely helpful. Wer would happily stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Third floor facing west and in the oolder building seems to be the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest, nice to read you've enjoyed your stay and that you had a safe journey back over. It does mean a lot that our guests take some time to put their opinion on TripAdvisor because it's from these things we can learn how and where we can improve or just keep up the good work! I was happy to read you've enjoyed your meal in the restaurant but I was sorry to read about your dissapointment with breakfast. We'll certainly have a look into this! You mention you would stay here again and this is what we like to hear! Thank you so much! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a lovely hotel,with rooms that are spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and the food was great and well presented. It is in an excellent location, near to the beautiful centre of Ypres, its magnificent Cloth Hall, and wonderful shops, and the Menin Gate for the Last Post ceremony All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest, reading your short but ever so clear and honest review make us feel so pleased! The words as spotlessy, friendly, excellent, beautiful is just what gives us the boost to keep up the good work in the future! Thank you so much! Kind wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Selected this hotel solely on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. A modern (1988) building, stylish, clean and elegant within easy walking distance of the centre of Ypres and the Menin Gate. The staff were polite, helpful and all spoke English. We were offered a free drink in the attrative bar upon our arrival. The room was large and comfortable with quiet, effective air-conditioning and a spotless bathroom. High quality food in the restaurant which starts serving dinner at 6 pm so you can finish in good time to walk to the Menin Gate for the moving Last Post ceremony at 8 pm. Be warned, though, if you order one of the delicious 'national' salads ~ they are huge. Breakfast was a sumptuous buffet with a huge selection.
All this for €119 for two, including breakfast (dinner extra). Great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Good evening dear guest, it was a pleasure to read that the comments on TripAdvisor met your expectations from the hotel. Because you booked directly through our website, the welcome drink was offered with pleasure. The ideal way to taste a local wine or beer and start your holiday here! Reading your honest opinion about the room, restaurant and breakfast puts a smile on each of our faces! Thank you once again! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here, overnight en route back from Spa, on the recommendation of a colleague as we wanted to attend the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate.

The hotel is fabulous. Large, luxurious rooms, comfortable beds, friendly helpful staff who speak good English. A nice touch in the rooms is a radio alarm clock with an iPod/iPhone/iPad dock (and a USB port for non-Apple devices) so you can listen to your own music.

The location is in a quiet street (Slachthuisstraat means Slaughterhouse Street!!!!) only about 5 minutes stroll from the centre of Ieper, which is a picturesque little town with lots of history, not just the Menin Gate and Flanders Field Museum (for which the hotel have discounted tickets), plus plenty of pavement cafés, bars, and restaurants.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but it looked excellent too.

One quirky little thing; there's a glass display case in the Reception area containing a collection of British Policemens helmets. Why? I have no idea (forgot to ask!) - see photo

We plan on going back there for a few days next year to see more of the local area.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOvens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeHotel, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your honest review about our hotel. The I-home in your room is indeed an extra facility in our prestige/premium and prestige family rooms. A visit to the Flanders Field museum is certainly recommended and the reduced tickets are possible for the guests that booked directly through the Ariane website! About the British Policehelmets, this is the result of a collection from over 9 years...donated by regular guests who have retired and give their helmet because they know we'll take good care of these! Your comments are really appreciated and I do honestly hope to welcome you here again with us! Kind wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Property: Hotel Ariane
Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariane 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing