We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little theme park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellewaerde

Bellewaerde
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy the fun together! Bellewaerde is a great day out for the whole family, full of fun, adventure, and spectacular discoveries in an awesome natural setting. You won't find such sublime family attractions anywhere else - you'll be roaring with pleasure. And Bellewaerde is even more than this: you'll meet hundreds of animals at close range in an authentic environment. Ready for a day that you'll never forget? Welcome to Bellewaerde! New in 2015 This year Bellewaerde presents a new 4D film. The Little Prince tells the compelling beautiful story of Antoine de Saint-Exupery and carries you into his fantastic world. Furthermore, in 2015 you can enjoy the entire season of a brand new spectacular interactive show: GOLD RUSH.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great little theme park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Not as big as some of the famous theme parks but loads to keep all ages occupied. What I really liked was that unlike it's most famous French cousin, there is lots to do for the smaller kids so they don't feel left out by being too small to go on some of the rides. My favourite was standing on the bridge for the log flume ride and getting soaking wet evey time another 'log' came down. Excellent fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melchiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    231
    70
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Beautiful Looking Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I didn't have a huge amount of time here and to be honest went mainly for the animals. I must say that the animals are beautifully looked after and of very high quality, I look forward to seeing their collection grow further!

The whole park is very clean and tidy and decorated extremely well. The theming is just as good as you might expect from a park of the calibre of Disney Land or somewhere similar. Even the entrance feels like you are stepping in to something which isn't quite normal life for a few hours... Great fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyment of attractions grossly overshadowed by so many smokers!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My youngest son and I, plus relatives, visited Bellewaerde on August 10th, 2013. We were looking forward to the rides and enjoying time together. Almost immediately, it became obvious Bellewaerde doesn't have a 'no-smoking' policy within park bounderies. Everywhere we went, people were smoking. It was continuous; standing in line, at the picnic tables, around little kids, at the playgrounds. There was no place to have a reprieve. For us, it totally ruined the day and we left with headaches.
Also, the lines were really long for the more adventurous attractions. Sometimes over an hour. Normally that wouldn't be too bad, but with all the smokers, it was unbearable.
I will not visit Bellewaerde again, until they have a no-smoking policy in place for the whole park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Chantal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“combine of amusement park and zoo animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

worth every penny of the fee, plenty rides and attractions for all ages, food outlets all around the place and friendly staff

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank leytonbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is out 2nd visit. If in Belgium this is a must. We got our tickets on line before we left. So no queing to enter. Plenty for all ages. Animals, Rides and even a 4d cinema. We had 2 kids with us, a 14 year old and a 19 year old. Even though it was busy it was not crowded. No long queues for any of the rides. The new ride Hurrican was the only ride they really had to wait for. The train through the lion and tiger enclosure was differant. Drinks a bit expensive, if able buy the ones that can be refilled, Slush puppies are refilled at a smaller charge, coffee is refilled free if recipet is kept. Animals are well looked after. It is kept clean and tidy. Rides are well maintained. All staff looked happy in their work. We spent all day here not just the normal 3 -4 hours that kids normally spend. Well worth the money. Happy tired kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellewaerde also viewed

De Panne, West Flanders Province
Tournai, Hainaut Province
 
Adinkerke, West Flanders Province
Oostduinkerke, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bellewaerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing