We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
98
214
82
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
214
82
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews industrial estate school groups euro taxi ride nice bar area town centre plenty of parking battlefield tour few minutes drive nice bathroom would stay again last post ceremony good size rooms are clean comfortable hotel tea and coffee making facilities stayed one night breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 437 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Stayed here two separate nights en route to Ghent. Excellent breakfasts and very good evening meal. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful. My only grumble was when I asked for a spare blanket, there was no one at reception (late in evening) to help as no spares in the room!
Very good parking. 20-25 minutes walk to the middle of Ypres.
I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

BE AWARE!!!!.......Booked with Booking.com. When it came to check out the bill was £35 more then quoted. I questioned this and was told it's city tax or something. Have emailed booking to question this. Be aware your booking may not be as it seems "not very happy as I had paid for other people and cannot now to them and ask for more money"

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Matto8750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy Evening meal in the restaurant was good with a lemon mousse to die for. All diets were catered for. nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were efficient and professional though out our stay would stay here again

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cathiealto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Hotel entrance and location: situated in an industrial estate just outside leper (Ypers) and as you drive up to it you wonder what it will be like but these fears are quickly allayed as the entrance is modern and landscaped to hide the surrounding buildings. It is surrounded by factories but are hidden from view and at the weekend very quiet. Car park isn't tarmaced so watch how you go when you leave.

Staff: found them to be helpful, polite and accommodating. The receptionist sorted out our rooms quickly then booked our taxi into Menim Gate. Bar staff were quick and polite and ensured we had salty snacks to help with our drinking, as if we needed help! Following day the staff at breakfast were the same standard we had already experienced, I.e. Excellent

Room: excellent! Spacious, clean, comfortable with all the additional bits a good hotel provides. Coffee making facilities, tv showing English channels, and all the stuff you require in the shower. Only complaint would be the lighting as it was a bit dim, but a minor dislike.

Restaurant: only ate breakfast which that was plentiful and delicious. If numbers are any indication then the restaurant was packed for evening meal but I dined in Ypers so cannot make a comment

Conclusion: excellent hotel which is off the beaten track but provides all that you require if you are visiting the WW1 battle sites. Great staff, great rooms, great hotel

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank bobf322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016

I stayed at the Best Western Flanders Lodge for work purposes and I can honestly say that the hotel is great. The property has recently been updated and refurbished and is split into two sections, one side (with the main entrance) is the main hotel. This is a very nice establishment with great food and nice social area and bar.

The second section is more of an annex used for school groups (so can be noisy). This side has more of a hostel feel but the rooms are extremely comfortable and modest. Twin beds that can be pushed together to make a huge king size bed. Their is an additional two murphy style pull odwn bunk beds, a 32 inch television and basic furniture.

The staff are welcoming, friendly (family run) and very helpful even throughout the night. (24/7). The rooms are very luxurious considering the price. The toilets were very clean (cleaned daily) and great quality, the shower in particular was brilliant!!

The annex does have a lot of games and activities but there is a €40 deposit for the equipment, but this is returned after use.

The hotel is located a short drive away from the Menin Gate where you can witness the moving 'Last Post' ceremony for the world war remembrance. This is performed every night from 8pm. You can then walk through the town to witness the wonders of Leonidas Chocolatiers and good quality waffles.

Room tip: Try not to be placed in the Annex is possible.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amico-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews