We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Ypres”
Review of B&B @Room's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B @Room's
Ranked #1 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed only one night with Nancy and Dirk in mid September while touring the WW1 battlefields. Even before we had arrived Dirk had kindly sent us photos of the sites we might be visiting which alowed us to plan our visit - a very thoughtful gesture. Nancy and Dirk are wonderful hosts. They provided excellent advice on what to see (in our limited time) and where to eat in the city square (Int Klein Stadhuis). The B&B is in a great location, within easy walking distance of the old town, in Flanders Fields Museum and of course the Menin Gate, but in a street where parking (free) was easy. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, a great range (fresh berries) and plentiful. We really regretted that our itinerary did not allow us to stay longer. I would recommend 3 days. B&B@Rooms is a relatively new B&B but Nancy and Dirk have got it right.

Room Tip: We had a front room on the street but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were a group of 4 visiting Ieper in order to tour the WW1 battlefields and after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor of this B&B I booked it for 3 nights via email. Before we even got to Europe I had several very helpful emails from Dirk including one offering to meet us at the train to take us to the B&B! When we arrived Nancy was waiting on the platform and transported us to her home. We were absolutely astounded by the way they have turned this house into a beautifully decorated and appointed home. The breakfast room was lovely with a fireplace to warm you up first thing on a cool morning! The breakfasts Nancy presented were amazing as mentioned by other reviewers! The bedrooms and ensuites would match or exceed those in most 5 star hotels. If you are ever travelling to Ieper you must try to book Nancy and Dirk's B&B.We did not have much interaction with Dirk because of our schedule and his not coinciding but did enjoy his warm welcome and interest in us when we did have a chance to meet.
Just read the other reviews on this site!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frustration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived in Ieper near the end of a month-long cycling trip and were directed to B&B@Room's by the tourist office. What a stoke of luck for us as this proved to be the most wonderful B&B experience we have ever had. After one night in our beautifully appointed room and one taste of Nancy's incredible breakfast the next morning, we soon extended our three-night stay to six. Our bikes were securely stored in their attached, immaculate garage, making it very easy for us to explore the surrounding area by bike each day. The well-stocked mini-bar with its variety of local beers was particularly appreciated after our rides. Dirk's interest in and knowledge of WW1 sites added to our enjoyment and made route planning easy. We enjoyed sharing our day's adventures with them in the evenings. Nothing is too much trouble for Nancy - we were thoroughly spoiled during our time there. We stayed in many fine B&Bs during our trip but Nancy and Dirk and their family are very special people with a very special home. I feel privileged to have met them and envious of anyone planning a trip to Ieper with the opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: Our room with large, sunken ensuite was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I can't rave enough about this beautiful B&B. The spacious double room we slept in was of a 5 star hotel standard with a dreamily comfortable bed, classy decor and spotless en-suite. The house is located only 5 minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the town centre of beautiful Ieper. Dirk and Nancy are wonderful hosts, friendly, informative and utterly non-instrusive. Nancy's breakfast (of choice sliced meats, cheeses, pastries, jams, chocolate, fresh artisan breads, eggs, fresh coffee, multiple choices of tea and juices) is fit for a king. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceandMarkBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nancy and Dirk, the charming owners, create a very relaxing atmosphere in their lovely bed & breakfast. Spacious, clean rooms very luxurious; rooms where you could spend thousand and one nights. Breakfast is just splendid: an enormous variety of fresh products, served in a very cosy breakfastroom. We could advise anyone to enjoy these peoples atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The best accommodation, anywhere.
It's impossible to top the previous comments so will just concur with every good thing that has been written about Nancy, Dirk and their wonderful B&B.
If you are visiting Ypres, do yourself a favour and book a room.
If you need to unwind and have some TLC, Nancy's warm and gentle personality will soon have you relaxed and the sumptuous spread she prepares for your breakfast will feed body and soul.
If you are interested in WW1 and have the opportunity to talk to Dirk, do so, it's his passion and has so much knowledge to share.
Thank you so much Nancy and Dirk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritannyCornishpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Such was our delight with our visit in June that we just had to return, with parents in tow to celebrate father's 80th birthday. Nancy and Dirk's warmest welcome was extended to us all with mother and father declaring that it was the best B&B they had ever stayed in. Nancy and Dirk's attention to detail during our stay ensured that two special people enjoyed a very special weekend. Ypres is a charming City with splendid accommodation to be found at Rooms - both worthy of a visit. Yes we hope to return...soon !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bold50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.7 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @Room's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @Room's

Address: Pennestraat 90, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $123 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B @Room's 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where a stylish room is not an idle word! Ideally located, close to the town’s center or as a base to explore the area. On foot you easily reach the outskirts of town through the town’s gates. By car or (motor)bike, the hinterland is easily accessible. Putting up (motor)bikes safely is not a problem. Front tourist, nature lover, sports fan or just an epicurean on the terrace of an Ypres’ cafe? You don’t even have to choose. We’ll take care of you with a warm welcome, a cozy room and a solid breakfast to prepare you for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your B&B @Room's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing