We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B @Room's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B @Room's
Ranked #1 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I can't rave enough about this beautiful B&B. The spacious double room we slept in was of a 5 star hotel standard with a dreamily comfortable bed, classy decor and spotless en-suite. The house is located only 5 minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the town centre of beautiful Ieper. Dirk and Nancy are wonderful hosts, friendly, informative and utterly non-instrusive. Nancy's breakfast (of choice sliced meats, cheeses, pastries, jams, chocolate, fresh artisan breads, eggs, fresh coffee, multiple choices of tea and juices) is fit for a king. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceandMarkBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
278
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nancy and Dirk, the charming owners, create a very relaxing atmosphere in their lovely bed & breakfast. Spacious, clean rooms very luxurious; rooms where you could spend thousand and one nights. Breakfast is just splendid: an enormous variety of fresh products, served in a very cosy breakfastroom. We could advise anyone to enjoy these peoples atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britanny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The best accommodation, anywhere.
It's impossible to top the previous comments so will just concur with every good thing that has been written about Nancy, Dirk and their wonderful B&B.
If you are visiting Ypres, do yourself a favour and book a room.
If you need to unwind and have some TLC, Nancy's warm and gentle personality will soon have you relaxed and the sumptuous spread she prepares for your breakfast will feed body and soul.
If you are interested in WW1 and have the opportunity to talk to Dirk, do so, it's his passion and has so much knowledge to share.
Thank you so much Nancy and Dirk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritannyCornishpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Such was our delight with our visit in June that we just had to return, with parents in tow to celebrate father's 80th birthday. Nancy and Dirk's warmest welcome was extended to us all with mother and father declaring that it was the best B&B they had ever stayed in. Nancy and Dirk's attention to detail during our stay ensured that two special people enjoyed a very special weekend. Ypres is a charming City with splendid accommodation to be found at Rooms - both worthy of a visit. Yes we hope to return...soon !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bold50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Each year a group of friends plan a 3-4 day trip to Ieper to unwind and get together away from the stresses of work and day to day life. Usually staying at the local camp site in tents we decided to change things around this year and treat ourselves to a little more luxury.

My girlfriend stumbled upon @Rooms when reading a review Brendan Harding had written regarding the Ieper (Ypres) cat festival and the B&B he stayed in whilst visiting. Very impressed with the comments he had written we began to read through the other reviews on TripAdvisor and wow! He didn't seem alone in holding this place in such high regard - and for good reason!

We had been in contact with Nancy and Dirk via email and it was Nancy who greeted us the day we arrived, welcoming us into her impressive home we were instantly taken back by the sheer beauty of the building.

After a warm welcome we were shown around our room and neither of us could quite believe the amount of luxury and class we would be provided with. The room was well designed with clean lines and neutral colours but the warmth from the wooden floors and comfortable soft furnishings make you feel welcome and at home. The room featured perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in as well as very well stocked (but concealed) fridge, flat-screen TV and the use of free internet. The room opened out in to a large, high specification en-suite bathroom with double sink, bath and in-built shower but for us it was the small personal touches which really brought it all together.

Due to a conflict of schedules we were unfortunately unable to meet Dirk but Nancy was the perfect host. Polite, friendly and approachable nothing seemed like too much bother and she was more than happy to assist with anything we needed. My girlfriend and I were both a little surprised when at breakfast on our third day she remembered the unusual name of our daughter and asked how she was doing back at home - it's a cliché but it really was like staying with an old friend.

Which brings me on to breakfast itself. I'll start by saying the exact same thing we spent our time in Ieper gloating to her friends about - the breakfast we were served was likely the best breakfast we had ever had. An extremely generous selection of local meats, cheeses and yogurts from the dairy combined with a large selection of breads and rolls I think we could both happily eat Nancy's breakfast every day until the end of time. You really have so much to choose from with plentiful amounts of coffee and fresh fruit juices there's something for everybody's taste. Breakfast with @Rooms would easily keep us satisfied until lunchtime and beyond - it was truly amazing.

In closing, there really is nowhere else in Ieper that I could recommend more. It was the best B&B we had ever stayed in and quite frankly out classes a lot of 5 star hotels we've stayed in as well. Nancy & Dirk's hard work and attention to detail have created memories of Ieper for us that we'll never forget and we would undoubtedly return to @Rooms year after year because there really doesn't seem to be any way to beat the experience we had.

Visited as a couple - September 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

As with the vast majority of reviews on this site this is a trully lovely B&B, a comfortable room with a fantastic en-suite. Nancy and Dirk were wonderful hosts, Giving my son and myself some good places to visit. Just a short walk to the centre of Ypres and ease of parking makes this an ideal place to base yourself. The breakfast is more than enough even for the biggest appetite. I will be returning, next time with my wife. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

There have been lots of excellent reviews written about Nancy and Dirk, and their wonderful BnB. I can only concur!

After 3 night-stays pre-booked in hotels in Leuven, Antwerp, Gent and Brugge, we rented a car and took a chance of going to the tourist info centre in Ieper to ask about accommodation in the area. Our basic requirements were "clean, and an en-suite bathroom". The fellow spent some time going through his list and finally called BnB@Room. After a brief discussion with Nancy, he confirmed that they had a room for the 2 nights we required. We immediately drove to the address, saw the outside and wondered what sort of BnB could be hidden in this back street residential area! We were surprised when the door opened and Nancy welcomed us into her home, - not a typical BnB at all! The recent renovation to the house reminded us of our home in Canada, and how we thought we were unique in paying attention to all the details to bring out the best in a historic home renovation!

Nancy and Dirk have set a very high standard for themselves and their guests. You will not be disappointed if you have the opportunity to spend a day or two under the wings of this wonder pair! An added bonus for us was the extensive knowledge of history that Dirk has. We really enjoyed discussing the local history with him, and were astonished at his insights!

A final comment - we had the pleasure of meeting Nancy and Dirk downtown and they graciously agreed to allow us to have dinner together with them. It was like meeting up with old friends, and enjoying an evening out!

Hurry to Ieper and take the opportunity to experience this BnB. It is hard to imagine how staying away from home might get any better than this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @Room's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @Room's

Property: B&B @Room's
Address: Pennestraat 90, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B @Room's 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where a stylish room is not an idle word! Ideally located, close to the town’s center or as a base to explore the area. On foot you easily reach the outskirts of town through the town’s gates. By car or (motor)bike, the hinterland is easily accessible. Putting up (motor)bikes safely is not a problem. Front tourist, nature lover, sports fan or just an epicurean on the terrace of an Ypres’ cafe? You don’t even have to choose. We’ll take care of you with a warm welcome, a cozy room and a solid breakfast to prepare you for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your B&B @Room's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing