We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a thoroughly average hotel. The rooms are fine, a decent size and quite well equipped, the bar area quite comfortable though not large, the breakfasts are good. The staff are friendly and as you would expect in Flanders, all are able to speak English. But, all these things are to be expected in a hotel chain like Novotel, which isn't particularly cheap, but has a decent reputation. I found my stay neither disappointing nor memorable. I guess few people will ever have a bad experience.

The location is ideal for most people who visit Ypres as it is only a very short distance from the centre of the town, the main square, the Flanders Field Museum and of course the Menim Gate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshmanabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your latest stay at our hotel.

We are glad to see that you were pleased with your stay and do wish to welcome you again when you are visiting Ypres and/or the surroundings.

Sincerely

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Ieper Centrum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We used this hotel whilst visiting the WW1 battlefield and graveyards. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremly helpful and friendly. The hotel is well located and central to Leper.
However, we had ordered breakfast on the first morning, on arrival at 915, we were told "you must take all the food to your table as we clear everything away at 930." this hotel is surely used by many people travelling for the same reason as us and 930 is far too early.

On returning to the hotel in the evening, we decided to have a drink. We waited for 10 miutes to be served and when the overworked and stressed barmaid arrived, no word of an apology. We had two drinks each, totaling 40 Euros. No sign of an ice cube or a slice of lime for a G&T!

Lovely hotel, let down by the food and beverage operation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and concerns about your recent visit to our hotel.

We are glad to read that you were pleased with your stay and want to thank you for your remarks concerning breakfast and bar. We will forward your review to our F&B manager, who will take a look at what can be done about this.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again with us very soon.

Sincerely

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

visiting the battle fields of World War 1 is an experience everyone should have.We stay at Novotel in Ypres(Ieper) for the convenience of situation for buses, trains, museums and of course ,The Menin Gate ceromany, which occurs everynight at 8pm.The hotel offers clean airy room with a huge selection of breakfast,and very friendly staff.Lunch and dinner also offered at additional cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessikalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your latest stay at our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Large hotel in central Ieper. Great staff. Typical Novotel modern product and we got a great 2 night weekend b&b deal from the Novotel website. Lacks character but if you're just wanting a base from which to explore it's ideal. Breakfast a bit of a bun fight at peak times but a good buffet selection. Basement car park at additional reasonable cost in case all on street parking full.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities that we offer.

We hope to be able to welcome you again with us in the future.

Sincerely

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been visiting Ypres for the past 8 years and I have stayed in other hotels but nothing compares to the Novo. Location is great, American style breakfast is top notch as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It has a 24 hour reception and staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and up to standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodfellowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences concerning your latest stay at our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

We are very glad to read that you are a returning guest at our hotel and that you, once again, enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our hope, to welcome you again the future with us.

Best regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a standard chain hotel with all the facilities you are likely to require. We even found we were able to park for free in the Square outside, which for a city centre hotel is very unusual.

The hotel may be standard but the whole package was excellent. The staff were friendly and accomodating, the food very good (breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and evening fixed price menu),
and the location all you could ask for within 200-300m of the key attractions.

We stayed three nights and arelikely to return as there is so much more to this area than battlefield tours - for example the walk round the old ramparts is a delightful walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbotsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

It is great to read that you have liked your stay with us and well as the hotel's and town's surroundings.

We hope to welcome you again with us soon!

Best regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited Ieper 7th -9th September & had prebooked the Novotel online for 1 night B&B for the reasonable price of around €120 for the room & breakfast, deliberately choosing a well-knownchain rather than a 'trad' B&B locally, as that was what we fancied, rather than the more intimate small hotel style, which can be a bit hit & miss sometimes I feel personally, but this a purely subjective review.

We had travelled to Ieper via train from Brugge on a P&O Hull-Zeebrugge crossing, for a couple of days break, & a need to replenish my stock of rolling tobacco (!)

Train to Ieper from Brugge Central rail station (change at Kortrijk), was a reasonable €46 return for 2 people, & a very pleasant, efficient & stress-free means of visiting Ieper. The fast, comfortable electric trains whisked us to Ieper very efficiently & no problem buying tickets at Brugge station as of course, most of the Flemish speak fluent English of a very high standard indeed. The ticket man even overheard my jokey muffled comment to my wife about age concessionary rates, & asked our ages. As I'm only 61, I was 4 years short of a discount, sadly.

Ieper train station is some 15 minutes slow stroll from the Novotel, through the main street, central square & about 150 metres down a side street off the central square. Easy to find, especially if you've pre-printed directions to it & Google-Earthed the route.

It's a smallish hotel, but seemed to have been very recently refurbished, and clearly up to Novotel standards. Checkin was fast & efficient (prebooked online of course) & the staff extremely efficient & pleasant. It has a nice laid-back ambiance in the lobby/bar/restaurant ground floor area too. Small & easy to navigate. Covered smokers' area to the rear outside the back of the restaurant, with giant parasols & patio-style heating when necessary.

Our room, on the third floor was extremely large, facing the cobbled road at the front, but with triple glazing of such impressive efficiency that it rendered any outside noise totally inaudible. Tea & coffee making facilities with thoughtful recycled-paper cups (you can always 'borrow' further supplies from the breakfast room of course). A clearly stated environmentally responsible mission statement & so on. A large, spotlessly clean bathroom with bath, hefty shower, nice toiletries, hairdryer, designer lighting & so on, with a seperate WC room next to it. Nice touch, Novotel.

The bed was a comfortable Kingsize double with duvet (not single beds pushed together), with extra pillows in the wardrobe. A large sofa, honey-coloured woodwork, tea & coffee-making facilities, cool Philips flatscreen with 27 channels, including BBC 1 & 2, ITV etc., FREE wifi throughout the hotel (fairly fast), & altogether one of the nicest hotel rooms we've stayed in for short breaks. Top marks.

If I had any minor criticism of the room, it'd be the aircon, which was a bit noisy & frighteningly efficient & cold. However we'd inadvertently visited Belgium when the outside temperature was 28C (most unusual in September), & the interior of the hotel was quite warm, so this can be forgiven, as efficient heating, as in British hotels, is probably more a priority.

The decor throughout the hotel is cool & comfortable 21st C designer. The place is spotlessly clean, as you might expect from Novotel.

Breakfast: This (self-service) is served in the restaurant bit (so no surprises there), & encompasses all the standard Euro breakfast foods, including well-prepared full English, with bacon, sausage, perfect scrambled eggs, mushrooms, hot tomatoes, beans etc. With the other stuff which for some reason foreigners eat, like hams, cheeses, yoghurt, salami, cereals, bread, muesli & so on. Coffee is served by a Star-Trek style machine which grinds the beans, roasts them & turns the result into very good coffee with a myriad permutations in a few seconds. One minor criticism again is that the plates there are simply not big enough to hold a full English breakfast, but adequate for a Euro-foreigner for his bits of cheese & bread, ham etc., so an Englishman/American/Australian/Canadian has to use 2 plates adequately to have his breakfast. Even 3. Culturally insensitive, Novotel! Please provide larger plates, or this sort of smacks of portion control?

Checkout is fast & efficient & there's a locked left-luggage room so that, as in our case, we could leave our overnight bags here in the early morning & reclaim them in the afternoon, leaving us free to wander about Ieper unencumbered before we had to catch our train back to Brugge at around 2.30pm, after visiting the Flanders Fields Museum & a stroll through the beautiful tranquil gardens leading from the Menin Gate to the small & very poignant War Graves cemetary by the moat.

As an aside, as the bar prices in the Novotel are a bit eye-watering for a simple Northerner like me, there are two pubs up the street with much more sensible prices & homely ambiance, one of which is an Irish Pub style setup, the other, opposite, a repository for strange Belgian hippies with beards and such, no doubt discussing fascinating Belgian politics & bamboo-shoot recipes, but they looked fairly harmless, frankly, as you'd imagine Belgian hippies to be. A few more metres along, before you hit the square, is a lovely local patisserie, displaying the most beautiful Belgian cakes, breads, croissants, eccentric little baked fancies, at extremely reasonable prices. We should have bought some for the train ride to Brugge but we didn't. Regret. Buy some.

Turn right at the square & you're on the street leading to the Menin Gate, about 200 metres away. On the right is Tommy's tobacco shop, which sells branded rolling tobacco at (@ current prices) €53 for 500 gms, less than 30 % of the current UK price. Cigarettes are approx 50% less than UK prices, if you're interested.

On Saturday mornings the square stops being a giant carpark & becomes a big provincial Belgian Farmers Market (lots of home-made pate, cheeses etc.,) & mini-funfair & we were lucky enough to be able to experience this in the warm balmy sunshine outside the Lakenhalle on Sept 8th this year . Recommended.

All in all, the Novotel Ieper is a very comfortable, user-friendly hotel, perfectly sited for easy access to the attractions of Ieper, & I hope you find my somewhat lengthy but purely subjective review useful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScepticTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelIeperCentrum, Sales Assistant at Novotel Ieper Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences concerning your recent visit to our hotel, Novotel Ieper Centrum.

We are very glad to see that you did enjoy your stay with us as well as our facilities and our lovely town.

We definitily hope to see you again with us in the future.

Kind regards

Juanita Bogaert
Sales Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
421 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ieper Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ieper Centrum

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 15, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#5 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $96 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Ieper Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ieper Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the heart of the city centre. The medieval Cloth Hall and its belfry, the In Flanders Fields Museum and the famous Menin Gate are within walking distance. The hotel has 122 spacious air conditioned rooms, Gourmet Bar with terrace and 7 conference rooms for all your meetings and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Ypres with your partner or family. Guests also enjoy the convenience of a private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Ieper Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ieper Centrum Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Novotel Hotel Ypres
Novotel Hotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ypres
Ypres Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing