We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tear jerker”
Review of Last Post ceremony

Last Post ceremony
Book In Advance
More Info
$293.64*
and up
Small-Group Australian Battlefield Tour in Fromelles and Flanders from Lille
More Info
$299.63*
and up
Private New Zealand Battlefield Tour in Flanders from Bruges
More Info
$359.56*
and up
Private New Zealand Battlefield Tour in Flanders from Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Tear jerker”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a must " lest we ever forget" Its something which we all need to do is stop, remember and look at all those names of the men from all over the world who never came back and have no grave where anyone can go and mourn save here

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,395
    186
    44
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I went to see, I took part in laying a wreath.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a wonderful memory a visit to Tyne Cot and Passchendaele leaves you with. It is well over 60 years since I served ...It brought it all back... Had I been born earlier, I too would have been there. God Bless every one of them.. Alan Curtis,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Emotional”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Taking part in the Last Post ceremony will be a memory that will live with me for ever. I would recommend that anyone visiting Ypres stays to watch this daily event.
Lest We Forget

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodville_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

if you are in Ypres any evening at 8pm then you are welcome to attend. it's different every night and often have special services and guest bands or choirs. It only last 10-30 minutes depending on the time of year. Probably best to avoid 11 November unless you have to be there as it's really busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank magpieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“It's a pilgrimage that everyone should do.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The 8 pm last post ceremony at the Menin Gate is a must for every Brit who can do it. There are over 20,000 names of soldiers without a grave who fell in WW1, and one of them could be one of your relatives. The 4 buglers walk out and play at exactly 8pm under the Menin Gate very evening. The ceremony has taken place over 25, 000 times with approx 1k audience every night. Go about 7.20-7.30 and stand at the far end of the gate as if you are leaving Ypres because that's where the buglers play facing towards the town. If you go any later you will be standing 6-8 deep in the crowd. No applause at all is requested and it adds to the solemnity and dignity of the occasion. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Post ceremony also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Last Post ceremony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing