We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Juliette's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juliette's B&B
Ranked #13 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Clean, friendly and white, much like myself. The single room was fine for me. Don't miss the stunning mural on the rear garden wall. The Flanders Field Museum is but ten minutes walk away but don't miss St.George's Church and the lovely cathedral. The famous Tyne Cot Cemetery is easily reached on a 94 bus from the bus station, one an hour, for 3 euros. If the return journey is undertaken within two hours, that trip is free. Take a walk around the Ramparts to get away from the hot sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from our trip to Ypres. I cannot express how fantastic this B&B is Roger & Muriel are the best hosts that you could wish for. There was four of us and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The breakfast is like home from home, all guest sit together on a long dining table which is lovely and friendly. Breakfast is plentiful with a fantastic choice including cereal and full English. Roger took us out to visit the War Cemertries and bunkers etc for a very good price. We were not hurried an any way. Anyone who post negative reviews on this place need to have a check on themselves! This in our opinion is top class for a B & B the standards are extremely high and the service no 1 thank you to you both.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipstickwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The B&B is only a short walk into Ypres centre - with free car parking. Both rooms booked were beautifully decorated, with large showers. We also had the room with terrace balcony at the rear of the property which is ideal to sit out and relax. Both Roger and Muriel were friendly and welcoming and both breakfasts offered, full English or Continental, were first rate. We could not fault anything with this B&B, location, facilities, rooms and breakfast were faultless. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to both family and friends.

Room Tip: The room at the rear with terrace balcony is a quiet room and it was lovely to sit out on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked two rooms here - both lovely decorated rooms, air conditioning, with ensuite shower - we also had the bonus of booking the room with the terrace balcony. Roger and Muriel are very friendly and welcoming - with car parking available and only a short walk into the centre of Ypres. Could not fault anything with either the accommodation or breakfasts offered. Both continental and full English were first rate. All of us from our party would definitely stay here again and would recommend the establishment to family and friends.

Room Tip: The double room with ensuite shower and terrace balcony is at the rear of the property. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Roger Steward and his lovely wife run Cavells B&B. It is on a quiet street in Ypres, but only a 5 minute walk from the center of town. The B&B is in a newly renovated building and is one year old. Being Americans, we chose the room with the private (non-shared) toilet. Our room was beautiful, air conditioned, quiet, and very comfortable. Our hosts were wonderful and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We opted for the Continental breakfast, a lovely repast of breads and pastries. The other choice was the full English (Roger is British) with eggs, bacon, sausage and beans. Not to missed in Ypres is the touching Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate held every night at 8PM for the fallen and missing from WWI. The interactive new museum in town is a must see. Cavells B&B is a wonderful place to stay and from which to explore Ypres.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in Ypres at the Cavells Bed and Breakfast just for one night, with our 8 year old son. We chose to stay here instead of another B&B in the same town, because of the more reasonable price rate, and we didn't regret it.

This B&B is conveniantly located just outside the city center and not far from the main square. From the outside, the house may give you another impression, but in fact this B&B is a very nice and cosy place to spend a few nights. Certainly we found the hosts to be very friendly and relaxed people, making us feel welcome.

We got what may well be their biggest room on the ground floor, right next to the breakfast area. The room had a private toilet and shower (not all of their rooms do!) and everything was very clean. I would suggest however to these people to go easy on the cleaning products as not everyone will appreciate the artificial smell of products in a (sleeping) room.

Sleeping comfort was OK for us, although we would have liked the matras to be of some higher quality and a little harder (most 4-star hotels seems to get this right nowadays).

Breakfast, in one word, was excellent. Being offered the choice between continental or English, we chose the latter and we must say the hostess really did a terrific job on this. Just perfect.

In summary, we're glad we tried this B&B instead of going for the well-known, and we will certainly consider staying here again next time we're in Ypres.

Room Tip: If you require a private toilet and shower, check before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucVanBogaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWORTH, YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Recently stayed at this very comfortable B&B in the centre of Ypres, on way down to home excahne in Rhineland-Pfalz. This B&B is very near the centre of town with ample - and free! - parking.The hosts, Roger and Muriel, are very welcoming, friendly and helpfil, without being in anyway intrusive. The room was well appointed and immaculately clean and the breakfast very good. I would give this B&B 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAEMEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliette's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliette's B&B

Property: Juliette's B&B
Address: Minneplein 3, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium (Formerly Cavells Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Juliette's B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Juliette's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing