We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic small hotel”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great place to stay, lovely clean rooms finished in style. Breakfast excellent, as long as you like sweet things or lots of butter. Not a place for starting a diet. Please try the black pudding...

Carine the owner, hostess is excellent and very helpful.

Will be back...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MikeRadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Main Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 417 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Main Street Hotel. The room was spotless with every added extra you could think of including a free minibar!

The breakfast was first class with fresh regional produce. The poached eggs were exceptionally nice as was the homemade rice pudding.

All finished off with a friendly, helpful host. Fantastic!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EFrancesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have just returned from a short 2 night stay with my 13 year old daughter, as we were visiting Ypres and the surrounding battlefields. iIhave never left a TA review before but our stay was so fantastic we felt compelled to do so. The hotel is fabulous, and Carine is a wonderful host. The owners have thought of everything! Its extremely authentic. a comeplete breath of fresh air from anywhere i've stayed recently.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTchod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Small hotel near the city centre but a real gem - had a room in the back yard - it was wonderful - comfortable, quiet and the minibar was included in the price! Excellent breakfast and a short walk from the Flanders Museum and the Menin Gate

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YANKEEBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What can I add. We were warmly greeted by the owner, who took time to tell us about the area and places to visit and eat nearby over a welcome drink. The room was fantastic. Really different from the chain hotels but very tasteful and clean, with all amenities one would expect from a top hotel. We had a huge safe, Nespresso machine, free mini bar, an amazing bathroom with separate loo. It has all been sympathetically restored by the owners. The breakfast was amazing, especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. There is a small courtyard garden for fine weather. We were so impressed and recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were greeted warmly by the owner with a welcome drink and a brief outline of what was on offer in Ypres with suggestions for restaurants. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was very good indeed. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the main square with the museum and the Menin Gate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Baxendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent two nights in Experiment, but we were lucky enough to have a tour of some of the other rooms. The photos just do not do them justice. Every possible whim has been catered for, with furnishing of the highest possible standard, especially in the bathrooms.

From the personal welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble for owners, explaining the ceremony of the last post, as well as recommending other museums, restaurants and bars., together with making our table reservation at De Voerman, also not to be missed, exceptional steaks and lobster.

Having started our day with a breakfast of the best of local produce, including local sparkling wine, our days were rounded off by a small measure of Belgian malt whisky from the honesty bar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David19620928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $185 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing