We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The welcome from Carine was perfect - a drink and then she answered our questions about the local area - and then she showed us to our rooms. The decor, furnishings and overall facilities are first rate and the bathrooms are amazing. The contents of the mini bar are free and a high quality coffee maker is in the room with further coffee pods available if required. If this wasn't enough, the breakfast is first rate with enough choice to ensure the fussiest of eaters will be well catered for. Overall, I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Ieper and will definitely stay there again when we next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
279
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This has to be one of the most wonderful hotels we have stayed in! We were greeted by Carine on arrival and shown to our room which was out of this world......the furnishing and décor were outstanding. Carine explained everything about the room and then told us that free use of the mini bar was also included in the room rate,we were amazed as for the price she charges for the rooms is so reasonable for all the extras she includes.
Breakfast well one word WOW! Sparkling wine,home made breads,pates,jams the list is endless.
Perfection is what Carine & her husband have achieved at their Hotel & we can't wait to return but I'm sure we will have to book well in advance as word gets about how wonderful this Hotel is.
We have stayed at many five star Hotels but this tops everything we have stayed in! Just wish we could find more hotels with the same high standards as Main Street Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time after reading all the wonderful reviews , And we were delighted with with everything ,Carine and her husband do a wonderful job, they just think of everything anyone might need ,a wonderfull breakfast all local produce, we have stayed in alot of hotels over the years this must rate as one of the best,It is different ,attention to detail great,would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What more is there to say ? We can only repeat and confirm all the previous positive reviews stressing the excellence of this establishment. We highly recommend it ! Our only wish is to find hotels with a similar high standard on other journeys.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for the first leg of our honeymoon, and what a stay it was!

we booked the Glory room on the first floor, and it is simply stunning, luxury oozes from every inch of the place.

Upon arrival we were greated by Carine, a truly delightful lady who will make sure your stay is as wonderful as the hotel. a warm welcome into the fantastic reception room before being shown around and to our room. Carine speaks fluent English and is a fountain of knowledge and always around to help.

The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable. the bath even more so :). with dark shades and a glitter ceiling, you will struggle to leave this beautiful room as everywhere you look is something new to admire.
We were spoilt to complimentary fizz and chocolates and along with the incredibly well stocked complimentary mini bar (restocked daily) you can and will survive without leaving the comfort of the room. Carine has thought of everything extra and you will appreciate it all should you stay here,
Breakfast was a vast continental array of meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits, homemade breads, pastries.. you name it! There is a hot breakfast menu with eggs, bacon, blackpudding, waffles galore and all supurb. and with complimentary Sparkling wine, it rarly passed 10am before i had a little tipple (well we were on our Honeymoon after all)

The Hotels location is perfect for exploring whether by car or on foot. There are free parking spaces located near to the hotel as well as short stay spaces directly to the front. Its a 5 min walk into the town centre with all the wonderful array of shops and buildings and Menin gate is around a 8 - 10 minute walk from the hotel and recommend everyone to attend a Last Post ceremony which is held at 8pm each evening.

Overall we truly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Main Street and are already planning a return visit. A beautiful place with wonderful hosts. Please Please make sure you stay here should you be visiting Leper.

Thank you Carine and Stefen.

Room Tip: Glory Room is Luxury at the highest. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was staying in Ypres on Business with very little time to enjoy my stay, but it was really delightful. Carine couldn't have done more for me, so gracious and helpful.

When I read the reviews of this hotel they almost seemed to be too good, but having stayed there I now realise why. Just a few highlights:

- Faultless friendly service
- Beautifully appointed room (I was in 'Experiment' which had a science theme - room themes are delightfully quirky, but ultimately *very* stylish)
- First rate boutique hotel styling in everything including excellent shower room
- Mini-bar that is all free (very welcome as I arrived very late and a little hungry!)
- Nespresso machine in room
- Fantastic breakfast
- Incredible value for money

If only all hotels were like this. Carine and her husband should franchise the whole operation (I wish!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very small hotel (actually B&B), located just 5-minute walk from the main square. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast is outstanding. Carine (the owner) is very attentive and friendly. She speaks fluent English and is very helpful -- she suggested where and when to go, what is worth to see. If you go to Ieper, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
503 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing