We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent in every way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply excellent in every way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked this based on other reviews and after looking at their website. I was certainly not disappointed. I have stayed in many good boutique hotels and this one stood out. Lots of unique and different touches; decor / rooms / breakfast. I was here with my teenage son to introduce him to the area and WW1, perfect for us both, he loved the scientific room. The host could not have been friendlier; the service and attention was excellent. This is a high quality hotel, I would/will stay again. Ideal for couples / friends visiting the area who want comfort and style, and something just a bit different.

Room Tip: I heard someone say cobbled streets made a bit of noise but no big deal, but thats common in Belgium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
264
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Only one night here, unfortunately, but it was a wonderfully cosy night in the Pottery room, which is one of the two ground floor rooms. Warm and quiet, in spite of the remnants of a tropical storm passing overhead in the night, with gales, thunder and copious rain. Liked the bath and separate shower, comfortable bed, complimentary chocolates, and of course the excellent breakfast; my husband is still missing the wonderful marmalade!

We paid 149 euros which included breakfast for the two of us, and the well-stocked minibar (we didn't consume everything in it!) Good value at a current rate of exchange which works out at about £124.

Great to see that Carine and Stefan are getting such consistently good reviews as these are thoroughly deserved.

One or two tips: we ate at the Old Tom restaurant in the Grote Markt (five minutes' walk from the hotel) and were very happy with the quality of the food. Would also recommend De Kollebloeme - also in the Grote Markt. As regards visiting WWI sites, we discovered a couple of new ones: the grave of, and memorial to, Noel Chavasse in Brandhoek (he was awarded two VCs) - about ten minutes' drive from Ieper. Lijssenthoek Cemetery (second in size to Tyne Cot) is near Poperinge and has some interesting memorials. Both can be visited in an afternoon from Ieper.

Room Tip: The Pottery is really quiet, away from any street noise, and suitable for guests who can't climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful warm welcome at this beautifully designed, cosy comfortable boutique hotel. Great bathroom, delicious freshly-prepared breakfast; simply perfect. Will definitely visit again. A little gem.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for four nights to tour the WW1 battlefields. Small boutique hotel which is superbly equipped, lovely bathrooms and a good breakfast ,Individually cooked Definitely recommended with every confidence.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogeright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Believe the excellent rating. Superb service and breakfast was amazing. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Ypres. The rooms were very well appointed, the owners were both knowledgeable and helpful. Five star all round.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YT_DOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is no surprise to read the reviews of this hotel which echo exactly our own sentiments. One only has to read the visitors' book in the hotel to see that many many more people agree and believe it to be the best hotel that they have stayed at. Thank you Carine and Stefan for such wonderful visits. Carine has done a superb job of refurbising the hotel and everything is done to the absolutely highest standard. As mentioned in the the other reviews, the welcome is warm, nothing is too much trouble, everything is first class and Stefane's Peppery Popeye toast breakfast is to die for! I first visited in July when my brother and I went to the Ypres battlefields and was so impressed I wanted to take my wife to the hotel for my birthday celebrations and she was equally impressed. No wonder so many people return as we will certainly do. Carry on the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms I've stayed in: Atelier - has jaccuzzi and small comfortable patio Experiment - twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in thousands of hotels during the last twenty or so years and I have to say that this is right up there with the very best of them. Just a few minutes walk to the main square this small but perfect hotel had thought of everything and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent as was the overall cleanliness. The room was large and comfortable,the en- suite- wow!!
We just can't wait to return 11/10

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmb180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing