We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Porte Cochere
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Ieper Centrum(Ieper (Ypres))
$131
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ariane hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albion Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
$107
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hortensia(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Old Tom(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
162
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful housequiet streetfour poster bedreal feasttv room downstairscheese meatssuperb hospitalityclassical musicbreakfast was deliciousloved our staywonderful coupleon arrivalfresh fruithelpful hoststhree nightswelcome drinkwatch tv
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 173 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Quite simply, I would travel again to Ieper just to stay here! Hosts Katrien and Steven were everything a host couple should be - welcoming, helpful, charming, accommodating...and anything else you would need or expect. Everything was exceptional without being expensive or pretentious.

Room: I can only speak to the room that my husband and I had. It was spacious, spotless and comfortable with lovely furnishings and a soaring ceiling. We felt like royalty. It should be noted that there is a flight of stairs to take, though our luggage was placed in the room for us. As well, there was no bathroom door though a wall did provide visual privacy and a second washroom option was offered just outside our door.

Breakfast: Wow! Again, we received the royal treatment with every possible goodie provided - eggs, meat, cheese, fresh breads and pastry, fruit...and more. It was a real feast.

Location: I am not sure if this is normal but we had free overnight parking right outside the front door. Everything you would likely visit is well within a short walking distance. An excellent map was provided though it would be difficult to get lost.

Don't even look anywhere else. Just book it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDD109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited in late September for a solo visit to the battlefields, having left the wife and daughter to enjoy the sites of Paris. I could not rate this establishment any higher - a first class five star experience. Large, clean and heritage room, separate bathroom large enough for a party!, breakfast like a Field Marshall and most importantly host who are gracious, professional and a pleasure to meet. This is the best B&B experience I have enjoyed across Australia, Europe or the UK in more than 30 years travel. Ideal for a business professional, great for a couple (romantic) and fine unless stairs are an issue. Discovered via Trip Advisor - good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - fabulous individual bathrooms for each room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place is as nice as all the other people say, the hosts are excellent an deserve to do well.
On arrival you are greeted by a huge front door and entrance, we were very lucky and managed to park right outside the door. The entrance hall is impressive to start with, then everything has been tastefully decorated and furnished. WIne, beer, tea or coffee are on offer as soon as you get there or soon after. The rooms are very nice with a soft double bed, sadly I like a firm matress and this was to soft for me, but that's just me. Even the bottle of water by the bedside tasted nicer than normal. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the hosts, and if you do not leave there feeling you have made new best friends, there must be something wrong with you, Katrien & Steven take time to listen to you and talk to you. We even joined them for an evening drink with their friends, and that was so nice of them to do this. The breakfast was lovely, some cheese and ham, scrammbled eggs and plenty of bread to choose from with tea, coffee & orange juice.
Two small things to mention, the bathroom is not en-suite you have to leave your room and potentially see the their guests from across the hall way, but this is a B&B not a hotel, so no problem, plus there are no TVs in the room, but you are welcome to use the one in the lounge, again, this was not a problem for us as we do not want to watch TV while away on holiday. Would we stay here again, without question, if we needed to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the en-suite room if you want privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We only stayed in Ypres one night but wish it could have been longer. Katrien and Steven have a lovely B&B where you made to feel very welcome and were very helpful on places to go. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. The house itself is a lovely, full of character and tastefully furnished. It is well situated in the centre of town and a 5 - 10 minute walk from the station. We hope to come back to Ypres and if so would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked up at the last minute, we were lucky to get two rooms in this lovely house. We were very impressed by the lovely decor, the cleanliness of the house and the tasteful furnishings.

Hosts Katrien and Steven are charming and very helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home right away, and even arranging a booking for us at a local restaurant.

Not surprisingly the reason for our visit was to see the memorials to fallen soldiers, including my wife's great uncle, and this is the ideal base to do that from. A short walk from the Menin Gate, we arrived just in time to see the daily service and playing of the last post, surely one of the most poignant memorials to that terrible war. The whole town suffered so badly during the first world war and Steven and Katrien were very helpful in explaining what happened and how the town was slowly rebuilt.

The rooms are supremely comfortable and very well appointed. And considering the house is in the town centre it is surprisingly peaceful. Well,actually there was a festival going on on the night we were there and the whole town was alive with people enjoying the mild night and listening to the bands (the Levellers!) - but when that had finished peace prevailed. It was a great atmosphere in the town and completely unexpected.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our visit was over far too quickly and we long to return. A very special place run by special people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkshire_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews