We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B experience in the centre of historic Ypres / Ieper”
Review of La Porte Cochere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Porte Cochere
Ranked #2 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived at La Porte Cochere, the hospitality displayed by the owners was unrivalled. The accommodation, which is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Ypres was exquisite. Nothing was too much trouble for Katrien and Stephen who genuinely appeared to enjoy their role of hosts.

Having spent the day driving over from the UK we were offered a beer or glass of wine on our arrival, which was accompanied by excellent advice regarding the sights and experiences on offer in the Ypres area.

The accommodation itself was exceptional - extremely clean and comfortable with great decor throughout. Parking is in the street just outside which, considering the proximity to the centre was incredibly quiet and peaceful.

A fabulous experience in Northern Belgium and accommodation which is very highly recommended..

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated. There is a choice of 4 rooms spread over 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This B&B only has three rooms but the standard of service is superb. The hosts are very welcoming and knowledgeable about Ieper and the surrounding area. Parking close by is very easy and all the town's attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshirekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Centrally located traditional Bed & Breakfast, just a few yards from the centre of town.
Lovely building with spacious and comfortable rooms, plus a lovely breakfast every morning.
The owners are warm friendly, and keen to help your visit to Ieper.
No dedicated parking, which can be an issue, but a great central B&B.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank MarkVancouver80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just spent 2 very comfortable and pleasant nights at this delightful B&B in the centre of Ypres while visiting some of the WW1 battle fields in the area.
On arrival we were offered a drink and nibbles and made to feel very welcome by Katrien and Steven who are both very knowledgable about the area. We had already decided where we would be going the next day but it was very helpful to have their added input.
The house is very well placed, a short walk from the Menin Gate and the Flanders Fields Museum, as well as the many restaurants and bars in the centre of town. Parking was easy right out side the front door and Katrien gave us a parking permit to use during the day.
Our room was spacious and had a four poster bed which was very comfortable, there was an ensuite bathroom with a very good shower.
Breakfast was excellent with fruit, ham, cheese, eggs, delicious rolls and home made jams plus orange juice and tea or coffee, a real feast that set us up for the day.
I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmdb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to Ypres. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely host, Katrien and shown to our delightful four poster room before being offered a refreshing glass of wine. Katrien and her husband, Steven are wonderful people whose sole aim is to make your stay with them the best it can be which included cooking a fresh quiche for breakfast! The B&B is situated right in the centre of Ypres, close to the Menin Gate, yet on a quite street, so sleeping is not a problem. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Book it today. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only 3 bedrooms but ask for the four poster room for extra romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the last leg of a trip through France and Belgium in which my husband and I were visiting the war sites and paying our respects to the fallen heroes of WW1. We were warmly welcomed by Katrien into her beautiful home where we enjoyed a bottle of wine, nibbles and a good chat. Katrien explained the history behind the house and was most helpful in pointing out good cafes and restaurants in which to eat. We later met Katrien's husband, Stephen, who is very knowledgeable regarding events and history of Ypres and was most helpful in pointing out the areas to visit during our two day stay. The bedroom in which we stayed was very bright with its high ceilings and large windows. We were in the "romantic" bedroom with a four poster bed, which was very comfortable and there was a wonderful power shower.
The breakfasts were exceptional, with fresh bread daily (of different types) and one morning home-made quiche lorraine, made by Stephen, which was delicious, not to mention the home-made preserves - the rhubard jam is a must!
I cannot rate this B&B highly enough - you have to visit and experience it for yourself!

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for only one night, in January 2013, in this beautiful house, within walking distance of the town square and other attractions. The owners, Steven & Katrien (Katherine) greeted us warmly and ushered us into their dining room, whereupon they brought out a bottle of champagne!! We spent a couple of hours chatting, especially exchanging ww1 relatives stories. Our room was spacious (have to climb stairs, no lift) and beautifully appointed. Everything clean and classy. You couldn't close off the bathroom in this room - didn't worry us, but may not be ideal for some.
We'd read about "subdued lighting" and it certainly was! Not that easy if you want to read in bed, or anywhere else in the room. Lovely garden out the back, which would be fantastic to spend time in during the warmer months.
Breakfast was magnificent! Lots of fresh food and great variety. Steven even drove us to the station to catch our train to Brussels/Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fields of Gold
Fields of Gold
#8 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porte Cochere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porte Cochere

Address: Patersstraat 22, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $126 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Porte Cochere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing