We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS FOOD, WELL PREPARED AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Review of Markt 22

Markt 22
Ranked #29 of 125 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS FOOD, WELL PREPARED AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The menu was extensive and the food we chose was absolutely delicious and served in good time - staff really helpful

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    84
    29
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gillingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOTHING SPECIAL”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Those in the know say that Belgian cuisine is excellent and on a par with the French. We should have known that the best way to test this would not be to plunge into the scrum of fierce competition in the central market square of a town.

There must be a dozen restaurants in this location and, while we only went to one, it would be surprising if there were any others that stood out.

We went on the recommendation of the hotel staff (where we stayed didn't offer dinner, so we were confident it would be an unbiased view) but, in the end, Markt 22 wasn't our expected number 1 for Flemish cuisine.

Saturday night saw a room full of locals (good sign). Bland Euro-menu (bad sign). The steak was OK with everything except flavour.

Staff reasonably attentive without overdoing themselves. Cost was middle of the road but the evening wasn't memorable. Fortunately, I'm beginning to forget.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A safe bet but look elsewhere for regional dishes”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

On the positives it is clean, bright and well located with hard workig friendly staff. On the day Markt22 provided an international menu which probably meet the needs of the locals. Sadly there was almost nothing other than frites for overseas visitors wanting a taste of the region. And currently more expensive than their London eaterie equivilants

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beurwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply very good”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went there twice during our stay in Ieper and found the menu to cater for all tastes, which was in English. The food was of a high quality and very well presented and the staff very attentive and helpful. We had a very good bottle of house wine which was reasonably priced. We will be definitely go there again when we go back to Ieper.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mabbstopdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location but average food!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It is certainly a good location, in the middle of the pretty town square and with plenty of seating outside. However, the overall feeling of the food and the service was that it was all a little bit average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markt 22 also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Markt 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing