We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”
Review of Markt 22

Markt 22
Ranked #29 of 127 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went here after listening to the Last Post on a Monday night - one advantage this place has over many others is that it is actually open on a Monday - to find some very nice food. We both enjoyed our meal, but the restaurant closes earlier than we expected (9:30), so we did not have time for dessert. I should point out that they did give us the option of having coffee or dessert, but given the restaurant had emptied, we felt we should be leaving. Oh the whole, a nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsBunny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    86
    30
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ate here on the Saturday of our stay really nice, good food , nice people. It is nicely situated on the main square would be lovely to sit out when weather gets better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason198517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My hotel recommended it - accurately - as affordable chic.

A great, affordable meal - with helpful, friendly staff.

It's located right on the central Grote Market in Iper. It has inside, outside covered and outside uncovered areas and (to an old marketer) is a very interesting - and obviously successful - combination of cafe, bistro, restaurant and bar...superbly designed in blue, grey and black. Evidently abput half their custom is local, the other half is visitors like myself. I was so impressed I almost asked if they would franchaise their model in Sydney!!!!

More expensive than the (more tourist-oriented) places next door - but they have a better selection of food and a better ambience.

Highly recommended (and thanks to Hotel Ambroisa for the suggestion to dine there).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 60yoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Markt 22 is a small restaurant with a friendly, attentive staff ... and excellent food! The Flemish beef stew is thick and plentiful and comes with a delightful salad. We also had Glühwein (mulled wine) and it was a perfect way to warm up on a cold night. The cozy decor adds to the ambiance and ... make sure you ask for Bobby! He's a regular at Markt 22 and a very friendly, well-mannered Cocker Spaniel. We wanted to eat before the Last Post at the Menin Gate and this was perfect. I would suggest reservations during the tourist season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent place all round”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent food, atmosphere and staff.....this is the place to go to have a great night.

The food was perfect and the waiters were top notch. Def be going back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerninj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markt 22 also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Markt 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing