We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Hooge Crater museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full scale reconstructions of war scenes, an extended collection of weapons, war equipment and photos make this museum to a true must-see!The chapel, in which the museum is located, dates back from the early twenties. This chapel was built directly across the Hooge Crater cemetery in memory of the many fallen soldiers on the battle fields of ‘Hooge’ over a period of 4 years. Rare military clothing of the troops, that where fighting in the ‘Ypres Salient’ (Ieperboog) are exposed in glass displays. Also you can see some full scale scenes of the Great War battle fields, very authentically reproduced. The theme of the scenes is very divers: German bunkers, British trenches and full scale horses with cavalry troops on their backs.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The museum houses a collection of artefacts and displays that give an insight into the battles of the Ypres Salient. It's worth the entrance fee.
Walk across the road afterwards to visit the cometary there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spoc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    175
    28
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great museum filled with very interesting artefacts and information about WW1. You cannot see the crater now but I would recommend still visiting. The cost as at Sept 2013 was less than 10 euros for the two of us. We enjoyed a coffee afterwards in the attached cafe. I would also recommend walking 50 yards down the road to a small 'outside museum' in the grounds of the hotel (1 euro each).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Horologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking Hooge Museum”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited this museum after we had been to the Menin Gate. It was a very moving day as we visited all these memorials of war but we were amazed by the care and consideration given in memory of the men who gave their all.
The Hooge Museum is a must see and we spent a long time absorbing the vast amount of history displayed there. We also visited the preserved world war 1 trenches nearby and that certainly opens ones eyes to the futility of war. Very sad that all those young men could die for a few metres of earth over 4 years of hell. The whole area is a museum really and the people of Belgium certainly show respect and appreciation for all who died and fought to free them from tyranny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuengirolajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great tardis of artefacts”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

do not expect to see the crater!! The museum is built on the site of the crater. Pay a visit to the Hooge Cemetry across the road too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlejohnandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
923 reviews
328 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A good collection of WW! memorabilia. A neat collection located just out of Ieper, nice basic cafe attached, well worth dropping in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooge Crater museum also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hooge Crater museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing