We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a hostel should be.”
Review of Peace Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peace Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited as a group of 14 Explorer Scouts and leaders from the UK and found it to be an excellent hostel.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and will really put themselves out to make sure you get what you need.
The accommodation is clean, spacious and comfortable. There are no frills, but its a hostel, so no complaints. There is ample wardrobe space, lots of sockets for phone chargers and good heating and ventilation.
The food was plentiful and they came up with the extras we asked for, plus more besides. The packed lunches were simple but effective and ample for even the teenagers.
The lounge area is small but comfy, and the bar stock excellent local beers or soft or hot drinks to suit.
Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need and they will help you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location and very accessible to all the cemeteries and memorial in and around Ypres salient. Accommodation is good, clean and tidy. Bedding is provided and you must make your bed with sheets and blankets. If you have a disability you must say prior to your booking and they will provide ground floor accommodation otherwise it's bunk beds! The breakfast is really good and very typical Belguim, other Meals can be provided and the food is very good. Staff are great and I must say very helpful. There is a bar at night and the town has a chippy if hungry. For the price it's value for money and it's only a bus ride away from Ypres or 20 euro taxi

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodfellowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a large group visiting the near by WWI sites. The accommodation is clean and modern - our had a sizeable living room area, toilet and separate shower area. There were 4 bunk beds upstairs - not very user-friendly if you have mobility problems. Bedding was provided as were towels - bring your own toiletries including a bar of soap. The nearby village had little, if anything, by way of restaurants or even a shop. If you are looking for shopping, a decent recent restaurant and some entertainment you would need to go into leper (Ypres) which is a few miles away. The centre's facilities include a bar area with pool table and a basic dining area. The food itself was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A good enough place to stay if you want to visit WW1 locations and are operating on a budget, which you probably are if staying in hostel accommodation.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs you would need to check in advance if you can get a room with bed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotBrazilNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and keep the place in very good condition. The rooms are simple yet clean and very comfortable. A quiet town, however for some excitement you may have to travel to nearby Ypres.

Room Tip: Rooms Four or Seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BES2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's the perfect place to stay when you want a place to sleep and a good breakfast before or in between visits to the Ieper region. It's not a hotel, but a perfect place to stay for an active vacation. Don't expect swimming pools and fitness rooms... but friendly staff, good beds, nice clean rooms... I allways look forward to stay here during the Ypres rally.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnydeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The important thing to remember is that the Peace Village is a hostel. It provides everything you could want for a hostel - the accomodation is beautifully peaceful, clean and functional. Early in the morning the area really is so beautifully quiet. The breakfast is also perfectly acceptable. Obviously its not gourmet, but it's not claiming to be and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhss95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Peace Village is a clean, quiet, comfortable hostel. Not a party hostel, in the countryside. It’s really great for big groups because of all of the rooms. There is a nice common room, with pool table too. http://www.PeaceVillageHostel.com

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
6.2 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,366 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
5.9 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
349 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
240 reviews
5.7 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Village

Address: Nieuwkerkestraat 9 A, Ieper (Ypres) 8957, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $32 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace Village Hostel, situated in rural Messines, is the ideal group accommodation and base for a visit to Flanders Fields and the Ypres Salient. The hostel overlooks the Messines ridge battlefield of Belgium's smallest city with landmarks such as the Island of Ireland Peace Park and the New Zealand Memorial to the Missing. The Hostel excels in tranquility, space and offers great facilities. It's perfectly equipped to accommodate both medium size and large groups. We can welcome up to 165 guests in 43 studio's, each with their own living and sleeping area and en-suit facilities. Our evening activities and bar help to keep groups occupied in the evening whilst you enjoy the beautiful sunset on Kemmel hill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing