We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first and last visit...”
Review of Gasthof 't Zweerd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof 't Zweerd
Ranked #24 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It's hard choosing an hotel via the Internet, and easy to make mistakes. Even so, this was a disappointment.
Good points. The bedding was superior, the location ideal, and the staff very friendly.
Bad points - everything else. The reception was dim & gloomy; the staircase to our room equally so, with a well worn carpet. The room was cramped, the window opened onto a claustrophobic patch of concrete with very high walls, the bathroom was a makeshift structure of thin board tacked onto one side of the room, with no privacy, and floored with dirty carpet. The plumbing system provides alarmingly loud waterfall noises as upstairs occupants flush their WCs. A downstairs toilet off the lobby was squalid, cramped, ill maintained.
Pity such potential has been spoiled. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We pity your bad experience with us. As i see in your detailed discription maybe next time you have to choose a more expensive hotel to get to all your detailed points. The internet says STANDARD rooms with basic comfort.... You can not expect the hilton.

You have to admit you just chose the cheapest category....
Kind regards,

Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Perfect spiced chicken and super-crispy chips !!!! Very nice diner, friendly host and warm terras. A place to stay, and revisit ! Always a pleasant to visit , also with the children. Always different meal-of-the-day.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredvsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

thank you for your review!

we appreciate your honesty!

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff at this hotel are all so helpful and the food very good. The location is superb, so central for everything. We stayed for two nights on a short family break and the group ranged from 8 - 79 years old. We all Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. . . . . . Hopefully next year. Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.
Emily, London

Room Tip: Room numbers 101 and 102 overlook the great square......lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your honest review , we most appreciate it,
Hope to see you soon,

Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Whether your staying at the hotel, visiting Menin gate or simply wandering the town you must stop and have a meal of their roast chicken, fries and salad. SIMPLY THE BEST :-)
I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. There was an noise issue with a neighbouring hotel however the problem was fixed immedialey and I was moved to another room on request. Breakfast is fairly simple but plentiful to start your day. Centrally located on Grote Markt square and within minutes walk to Menin Gate, Cloth hall, Flanders field museum amoung a few. If your looking for a central location, good food, helpful staff at excellant rates then you can't go past this Hotel.
Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootercb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your honest review, this gives our team a boost,
And is a complement to all our efforts,
Thanks!

Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for a few days each year for 20 years; The staff are always extremely helpful and friendly. The food is always well cooked and presented nicely. No reasonable requests are ever refused. Our room was bright, spotlessly clean and had a huge comfortable bed.

We have stayed in wonderful hotels Switzerland, Austria, & Germany and have had breakfasts and evening meals to die for (at a price) However, when in Ieper we would not stay or eat anywhere else. Believe me I could tell you of other hotel nearby where the food is terrible, staff rude and rooms that you would not put a pet dog in.

People who complain should be prepared to thrust their hands a little deeper in their pockets and go somewhere else. Although a higher price is not a guarantee you will have somewhere better.

One should not come to Ieper to complain, one should come to honour the people who fought and died to give us all a better life. They had to put up with far worse than any of us could ever imagine.

Room Tip: I personally think front facing rooms are best and nowadays don't find it too noisy. Having said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you once again gor your review, we will see you next year!

Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Considering where it was, the prices were very fair. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. When we visit Ypres again, we would definitely eat here again.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, only eat on Saturday evening, but if the restaurant was anything to go by, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your friendly and honest review,
we most appreciate it.

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just like say that our stay at hotel Gasthof't Zweerd in Ypres was very pleasant, we have stayed there many times before, you are made very welcome by the friendly staff, I will not hesitate in staying there again I can certainly recommend, it is rite in the centre of Ypres on Grote Markt square beside the Menin Gate.

Room Tip: Front rooms look on to Grote Market Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyOgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review,
This helps us very much,

Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof 't Zweerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof 't Zweerd

Address: Grote Markt 2, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $80 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof 't Zweerd 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel 't Zweerd you can enjoy a goodnight sleep in our comfortable rooms equipped with base needs to a hotel. Recently new coffee and tea sets arrived in every room. Inportant to know is that there have been some rooms updated with flat screen tv's and new telephone sets and new bathrooms with walk in showers.All rooms are non smoking and accessable with elevator/lift. We also offer various options in the room can be arranged for you, we may surprise you and your partner with an exclusive bottle of champagne or cava in the room, chocolates or even the best chocolate from Belgium and flowers can be provided before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gasthof 't Zweerd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing