We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with Location, location, location”
Review of Gasthof 't Zweerd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof 't Zweerd
Ranked #22 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A hotel that has the location, location, location. Fodd was quite good and the price comparable with the other restuarants in the square.
The rooms are very basic, but clean.
If you want a room that is on the square, not to pay too much money, then this is the Hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Client, thank you for your honest review!
Lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Awful hotel, rude owner, whole hotel smelled of curry, dirty bedspread and smallest bathroom in the world. We didn't eat or drink anything as the smell and dingy dining room put us off.
The only good thing about the hotel is the very central location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missfoodlove2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Clients,

Awfull to read that you havent got a good experience in our accomodation.
My sincear apologies if anyone said something that would or could upset you during your trip. We are aware that our chicken spit when the wind in blowing the wrong direction is pushing the smells of the chicken into the hallway and unavoidabely into our hotelfoyer, luckaly the smell is only in the corridor and not in the rooms.

So once again, my sinceer apologies,

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small but nice. Great location, with the Sat morning market just outside the door. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful with an assortment of pastries and cheese. It was a great little find. Parking is on street and was hard to find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your honest review,
hope to accomodate you once more at ypres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel's excellent location and nice looking frontage hides what you find behind the walls. We went with friends for one night and both our rooms left a lot to be desired. Stained carpets, our bed was broken in the middle and one foot off the ground and you couldn't close the bathroom door, if you had long legs, as it is built in the room. If you would like to stay there and reading other reports, that mention 'recently upgraded rooms', then I would strongly recommend, one asks when booking a room, what is on offer. If you are used to continental breakfasts, then this is ok, not brilliant but ok. The saying 'you get, what you pay for' applies here, although personally, I rather pay a bit more.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Client,
thanks a lot for you honest opnion,
I would like to thank you to mention in your review that our rooms are indeed getting a renovation. Crisis is everywhere and to get the best quality needs for every room we are updating 1 by 1. Hopefully you come along again once and see our improvement,

greetings,

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for the town of Ieper (Ypres) and for visiting the Menin gate and the war grave cemetarys. Tyne Cot (the biggest cemetary) is about 5 miles away. As the roads are almost empty it took us 15 minutes to drive there. There is a really big car park right opposite the hotel which is free after 18:00. The Menin gate is about a 4 minute walk from the hotel.
The best thing about the hotel is the location and the very friendly staff, they all speak excellent English and are always ready to help. The hotel is dated but for the price and location it is well worth staying here. Our room had an excellent power shower with lots of hot water. The restaurant here is very good and I would recommend it. The Grobe Markt square is surrounded by tea shops, bars, restaurants and shops ... pretty much everthing you would need. I would definately go back to this hotel when I next return to the area.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are quiet, small and dated. But very clean. Ask Isabella for one of her better rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kushti_Bokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We mostly appreciate your honesty and though we know we still have a lot of renovations to do we are happy that you have seen that we are progressing every day a little bit more!

hope to see you soon again in Gasthof 't Zweerd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon and need a family room. We were grateful to be able to get such a room in this hotke but, and I note managements responses to other comments made by earlier reviewers, the hotel needs some work doing on it.

The bedroom was bomb proof, the sort you expect to be occupied by a school party. Laminate wood floors, steel beds, tele fixed firmly to the wall, a kettle that wasn't a kettle! You get the picture! The shower leaked from the handset spraying water over the floor. Toilet paper is dispensed one sheet at a time - to stop school children messing about???

Breakfast is still very basic. Two rolls and one croissant with one glass of juice and some pretty discusting coffee. Cheese jam and honey compliments.

On a plus side the location is fantastic, right on the square - but so are several other hotels. The bigger Novotel isn't far away if you like those semi souless hotels!

Overall, it's a place to sleep and the location and price is right. I would look at other hotels first but this place does offer a budget stay that is probably more akin to a hostel than a hotel. The shame is that it could be so much more with just a little investment and care.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigkiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour, and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is adequate, but would really benefit from an upgrade. We had a room with two beds (because of the small size of the room, the beds were pushed together). The carpets were stained, and the bathroom has seen better days. The shower was hot in the morning, but you can barely turn around in it. There is a small elevator (2 people can fit in it really, and with not much luggage), but we chose to take the stairs as we were only on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff graciously brought the luggage up using the elevator (although I was happy to take the stairs, I did not want to do so with my luggage).

The continential breakfast was fine with ham, cheese, pastries, oranges, juice, coffee and chocolate. We also had dinners at the restaurant, and they good as well.

The location of this hotel, however, can't be beat. It is within walking distance of the Menin Gate and the Cloth Hall.

If you are looking for a place to stay and aren't too picky, then this will likely serve the purpose. If I find myself in Ypres again, I will likely explore other options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdngirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
537 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alliance Hotel Ieper Centrum
Alliance Hotel Ieper Centrum
#39 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Ter Vesten
B&B Ter Vesten
#17 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof 't Zweerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof 't Zweerd

Address: Grote Markt 2, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof 't Zweerd 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel 't Zweerd you can enjoy a goodnight sleep in our comfortable rooms equipped with base needs to a hotel. Recently new coffee and tea sets arrived in every room. Inportant to know is that there have been some rooms updated with flat screen tv's and new telephone sets and new bathrooms with walk in showers.All rooms are non smoking and accessable with elevator/lift. We also offer various options in the room can be arranged for you, we may surprise you and your partner with an exclusive bottle of champagne or cava in the room, chocolates or even the best chocolate from Belgium and flowers can be provided before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Gasthof 't Zweerd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing