We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Tripadvisor for helping us find this gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Vanilla

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Vanilla
Ranked #15 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks Tripadvisor for helping us find this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful overnight break on the outskirts of Ypres (Iepers). We arrived early but the friendly host gave us the key so that we could get in after attending the moving 8pm ceremony at the Menin Gate. Great room, wonderful and friendly service and a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janineonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Friend and I stayed over for just one night in September - shared a twin room - room was clean and good space - shower was excellent...went in mid-afternoon - met husband rushing around - showed us room + way in + way out+ bar on trust+ gave us room key...and rushed off back to work in his house next door...very friendly...

Breakfast in morning (met Christa) was excellent - masses of choice + fresh eggs and bacon....went out to chat with husband about his interesting business..

No rush to get out - just very friendly and very efficient....

Will definitely try and stay here on next visit...

Room Tip: Think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaround71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in this lovely villa for one night whilst visiting the lovely town of Ypres,on arrival we met Christa and she was very welcoming and showed us around .Our room was very spacious and lovely and clean,we had a lovely bathroom with a corner bath and shower,there was lovely towels,hairdryer and toiletries all available.We had a great nights sleep and the bed was really comfortable.We had free Wifi and parking.The breakfast was brilliant with lovely fresh eggs from the owners hens and a great selection including yogurt,fresh fruit,bread ,cakes and croissants,freshly squeezed orange juice,cheeses and meats.The table was set really lovely and the food very appetizing.There is a nice garden and patio chairs.I usually stay in hotels so this was a lovely change and would definately stay here again and would strongly recommend this fantastic plac.e if visiting Ypres or surrounding area.

Room Tip: We had the Dominique room which was lovely but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bensnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great little hotel, very friendly helpful hosts. Clean rooms, great shower in ours (George room). Guests have the run of the hotel, sitting room, bar ,garden, kitchen etc, all done on a trust basis. Very refreshing. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked this a long time ago for a weekend in Ypres

It certainly wasn't the most expensive and was Definately value for money.

It is a 15 min walk from the menin gate so convenient

Beds were soft but after a few Belgian beers, I wasn't affected!

Friendly host and aLovely breakfast too

I would use this again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our arrival Christa welcomed us with coffee and home-made cake, she speaks very good English and is really chatty and helpful with information about the local area. The B&B is on the outskirts of Ypres and therefore quite a walk to the centre of town, a bit too far for us oldies, so she advised us to drive a couple of streets along where we could park free and then walk only a short distance into town, perfect. Our room, the 'Georges', was lovely with comfortable beds and a small en-suite, we slept well. A nice touch was a small chocolate heart on each pillow. We noticed that there was a mozzie net on the window so you can leave the window open in the summer, although you will hear the churchbells. There is a really nice kitchenette/morning room where you can make coffee/tea or help yourself to wine etc (write it down and pay when you leave) and you can use the lounge/breakfast room and, on sunny days, enjoy the garden. Really, it's home from home, you can enjoy all the facilities of the villa as the owners live in a house behind. There is free parking either at the back of the villa or on the road. Breakfast was excellent with lots of nice touches and home-made delicacies. We hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at Villa Vanilla for 10 days while cycling around the area. The location is excellent: quiet, but accessible to everything. Christa, the host, could not be nicer. The room was super comfortable. The Trappist Abbey of Saint Sixtus of Westvleteren (which supposedly brews the world's best beer) is just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfb_mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vanilla

Property: Villa Vanilla
Address: Groenestraat 12, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Vanilla 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The villa is provided with 4 rooms with an ensuite bathroom. There is a livingroom, garden, free wifi and parking space at the disposal of the guests. We will spoil you with a delicious breakfast and dinner on request. We are centrally situated between Brugge, Belgium coast, the Somme and Ypres. If desirable, we arrange transport from the train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing