We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Vanilla

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Vanilla
Ranked #15 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

The B & B cost 65 Euros per night for a double room with en suite and TV. The room and beds were very comfortable. The room was spotless and cleaned daily, with a daily change of towels. Downstairs is a sitting room for guests, with a log fire, squishy sofas and an honesty bar, where you could also make your own tea and coffee.

The breakfasts were delicious and you helped yourselves to fruit salad, or cereal, toast, crossiants, cheese, ham, a selection of breads or an omlette with bacon or boiled egg with soldiers. There was also Christa's homemade jam available, which was top class. To drink there was tea or coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. The table was set beautifully and the food was excellent. I thoroughly recommend staying at Villa Vanilla, good value for money with no loss of comfort.

A short walk from the B & B took you into Ypres, which is a very pretty little town with an excellent choice of restaurants. Moules and Frites were consumed, washed down with plenty of Belgian beers! The town of Ypres is extremely pretty and was decorated very tastefully for Christmas. There was a skating rink and a small Christmas market running, I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joules22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Villa Vanilla is near the centre of Ypres...a fascinating place with agent history..

It's a beautiful B&B, very quiet and most comfortable. Nice and clean rooms!
Very friendly hostess who offered us delicious breakfasts, it didn't miss a thing!
Don't look any further..

Villa Vanilla is the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lange-barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

It must have been the fifth time we came to Villa Vanilla in less than seven years time. The first visit, we were young lovers, now we spent the weekend there with our two children. The actual 'villa' is a house on its own, the owners live round back, so the only people using it are the guests. Last time, we had the whole house to ourselves, although I'm well aware that we caught a lucky break, Villa vanilla is never empty.
Christa and Christophe are very warm, friendly, thoughtful and relaxed people and have always been very helpful and hospitable. Christa's even somewhat of a miracle worker in the kitchen too. So if you have the opportunity and if she's available, do stay in for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0rre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have stayed three times now with Christa on our way to/from the Dunkirk/Dover ferry which is about an hour away. The house is very comfortable in a home-from-home way with a sitting room downstairs and comfortable en suite bedrooms upstairs. Breakfast (and evening meal if booked in advance) are taken in the sitting/dining room which also contains lots of books about the area and the history of Ieper/Ypres. There is an honesty bar where you can fix drinks in the evening. Christa's cooking is excellent with 4 course meals of home grown/local ingredients and this year made a great finale to a rather wet summer holiday in the Alps!
Ieper is a fascinating city with an excellent multimedia museum telling the story of the First World War. It's hard to believe that the citizens have managed to rebuild it so exactly as it was before 1914 - an encouragement to current war ravaged areas perhaps. There is an act of remembrance at the Menin Gate each day at 8pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

My friend and I stayed in Villa Vanilla last week as we were spending a long weekend in Ypres for cycling and to visit cemeteries from World War I. I had stayed in Villa Vanilla in 2005 and it was even nicer than I remember it. The house is entirely for guests (the owners live in a separate house which is adjacent) and the rooms have been redecorated since my visit. Christa who runs the B&B is a former chef and the breakfast is without doubt the absolute highlight - fresh rolls and pastries every morning, organic yohourts, fresh strawberries, eggs from the hens in the garden and we even had a delicious rhubard tart one morning! Rooms are small to medium, but very well decorated and bathrooms are spotless - toiletries were miniatures Weleda soaps and bath gels, which I thought was another lovely touch. Downstairs is a lovely living/dining area with fireplace built into the wall and there is kitchen/bar area where you can help yourself to tea/coffee and beers. We booked dinner there for one of the evenings and it was delicious. Christa also collected us and dropped us off to Ypres train station at no extra charge and there is a bus stop outside the door if you don't fancy walking or cycling into the town centre. It's without a doubt the nicest B&B I have stayed in and the breakfast rival those of any 4 star hotel. Christa and her partner are also very helpful and speak perfect English. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vanilla

Property: Villa Vanilla
Address: Groenestraat 12, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Vanilla 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The villa is provided with 4 rooms with an ensuite bathroom. There is a livingroom, garden, free wifi and parking space at the disposal of the guests. We will spoil you with a delicious breakfast and dinner on request. We are centrally situated between Brugge, Belgium coast, the Somme and Ypres. If desirable, we arrange transport from the train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing