We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of Restaurant”
Review of A L' Envers

A L' Envers
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Description: À L‘ ENVERS, Frans voor omgekeerd, ondersteboven, binnenstebuiten en achterstevoren, een concept die bij onze persoonlijkheid past en een concept die we zowel in ons restaurant als in onze kaart willen doortrekken. Houdt u net van dat tikkeltje meer? Dan raden wij u onze "menu A L' Envers" aan, waarin u de Chef zijn passie voor het koken zal proeven en waar trendy food wordt gecreëerd door te experimenteren met een combinatie van smaken, texturen, geuren en kleuren. Geniet u meer van de traditionele keuken? Dan schotelen wij u met evenveel gedrevenheid een heerlijk traditioneel gerechtje voor. “Graag deel ik met u mijn passie voor het koken met een hoek af ;)” Frederic, uw chefkok “Ik hoop voor u het beste uit de ervaring naar boven te kunnen halen door een aangename, plezante en huiselijke gastvrouw te zijn” Elien, uw gastvrouw
Restaurant details
Description: À L‘ ENVERS, Frans voor omgekeerd, ondersteboven, binnenstebuiten en achterstevoren, een concept die bij onze persoonlijkheid past en een concept die we zowel in ons restaurant als in onze kaart willen doortrekken. Houdt u net van dat tikkeltje meer? Dan raden wij u onze "menu A L' Envers" aan, waarin u de Chef zijn passie voor het koken zal proeven en waar trendy food wordt gecreëerd door te experimenteren met een combinatie van smaken, texturen, geuren en kleuren. Geniet u meer van de traditionele keuken? Dan schotelen wij u met evenveel gedrevenheid een heerlijk traditioneel gerechtje voor. “Graag deel ik met u mijn passie voor het koken met een hoek af ;)” Frederic, uw chefkok “Ik hoop voor u het beste uit de ervaring naar boven te kunnen halen door een aangename, plezante en huiselijke gastvrouw te zijn” Elien, uw gastvrouw
Reviewed July 11, 2018

A L'Envers lived up to its reputation.
The food was excellent and the staff just as good.
Had the Chefs special (€40ish) and was not disappointed.
The waitress that served us spoke perfect English, and revelled in explaining what each individual courses was.
Definitely visit again when in Ypres

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of our b&b hosts. It was on the same street. It was the evening of the Belgium and Japan match and there was a real buzz in the town!

The restaurant had been more busy than anticipated and although the owner apologised that our outdoor table had not been laid, it really did not matter because she was super friendly and efficient.

We had a complimentary appetiser, then for starter we ate prawn croquettes, which were delicious. We both had fish for main course which was cooked to perfection.

This was the best restaurant we visited during our stay, with far superior food and service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lulu041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

We booked this restaurant well in advance as we read about all the good reviews and we did not regret it. We ordered the surprise menu of the chef and everything was so tasteful, especially the smoked Chateaubriand, which was one of the best and tender steaks we had ever eaten! The portions were perfect, and the total bill felt reasonable, so if we ever visit Ypres again, this restaurant for sure will be on our list once more.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Fantastic food and service at the best restaurant in Ypres I've ever been to. Very friendly staff and head chef who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your meal. One of us had the 'Special' and reckoned it was the best steak he'd ever eaten. First choice next time we visit Ypres.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews there was only one place I wanted to visit for a meal and that was
A L’Envers !! It certainly lived up to my expectations and some. We arrived on a Sunday for lunch and they managed to find us a table. The food was fabulous especially the scampi and the smoked Chateaubriand which was so tender, full of flavour and cut like butter. The restaurant was busy but we had wonderful service with the chef coming out to see if we enjoyed his cooking ! Will definitely come back again while we are staying in the area ! A nice touch was the arrival of some Rillett and olives to have with our drink while waiting for our meal to arrive !

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Shirley141250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A L' Envers also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to A L' Envers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing