We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean and cosy hotel, well situated for Ypres”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Lovely breakfast, friendly staff. Rooms a little cramped, but overall excellent. Thought parking might be a problem, but it wasn't. Easy stroll into Ypres.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Ambrosia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 510 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

Ambrosia is just off the main square in Ypres: an excellent location for getting out and exploring the town on foot. We arrived when the outside temperature was -7 but we had a warm welcome from Vincent.
The hotel is immaculately clean and warm. The room was good although we could have done with a little more light. The en suite was spot on: clean and well appointed - good shower.
Breakfast was really good with a cooked-to-order hot breakfast, fresh coffee, juice and loads more. Given the weather it was great to know that 'base' was a reliable place.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintothemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The service was superb being professional, welcoming and very friendly. I would go back just so I can stay in the hotel again.

Vincent (The Owner) was more than happy to answer all my questions about the local area, confirm where to park and was very organised and had all the information to hand.

I cannot find any faults with the hotel or service. I went for this hotel as my friend recommended it and I would recommend to anyone.

Would recommend you book directly with hotel as this means they include breakfast - We only found this out when we arrived and was a pleasant surprise.

I was able to park on the road opposite the hotel for free, which is actually better then they advertise.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The hotel is clean and is excellently located in a quiet sidestreet only a few minutes walk from the main square and Menen Gate. Now the bad bits. We booked on the hotel website and under "special requests" we asked if some gluten-free bread could be provided - one of us is a coeliac. When we arrived at the hotel the owner informed us that he had not got any gluten-free bread as it was not something he normally carried. So what's the point of asking for special requests? We thought his attitude showed a complete lack of goodwill towards his guests. In the event we went round the corner and bought a loaf for the princely sum of 3 euros. If his budget is so tight we would have preferred it if he'd put the cost on our bill.
Now for the room. We were given a tiny room on the top floor under the sloping roof - more of a garrett really. The roof slope was such that only half of the floorspace was useable, and it was impossible to stand up straight in part of the bathroom. The furniture, if you can call it that, consisted of two camp-type beds, no headboards, no bedside tables, and a tacky DIY-type shelf and cupboard. There is no way this room should be sold at full price. We couldn't change as the hotel was full.
The breakfast was ok but does not qualify as the "full English" quoted on the website

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlover16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Handy for the Menin Gate & the shopping area although there is no parking at the hotel we had no problem parking outside & only it cost 3 Euro per day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very helpful staff. Clean bedrooms. Good continental breakfast and great bacon and eggs.
Free internet use in reception and hot drink machine. Choice of snacks and alcoholic drinks from machine at resonable prices should you want a drink at the hotel.

5 mins walk to the square and a few more minutes to Menin Gate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19zico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel is everyhting I read on here. The rooms are very very small but we were out touring anyway so it wasnt a big deal. Service is good and breakfast is good as well. Nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plague40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
420 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $103 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing