We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still going good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still going good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotle in March 2008, just after the new owners had finished renovations and was open for business. We found it be very comfortable, and convenient for our stay in Ypres, and instead of the one night we had booked for, we decided to stay for 2. When passing through Belgium again this year, and wanting again to visit the Menin Gate for the 8:00 Ceremony of the Last Post, we gain had no hesitation of staying at Ambrosia. When we booked they only had a twin left, but I added my request for a double, which was accomodated for on arrival witha nice big room on the corner with those lovely white sheets and towels, all spotless. Breakfast was cooked buy our host in his kitchen so made us feel right at home. We go there any time. Only drawback is carrying the bags up the stairs, but maybe I shouldn't have that much weight on holidays?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    143
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
171
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

If you are visiting Ypres we recommend this hotel. The service was friendly from arrival, we were greeted on returning daily and always felt welcome when we entered the reception. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, tidy and comfortable. Plenty to eat at breakfast in a cosy dining area. The staff were polite, helpful and cheerful. Myself, father and brother thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would revisit if we returned to Ypres. Ideally located close to Ypres centre (2 minute walk), easy to find with close parking (payment required, evenings free after 6pm through to 9am). Brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Specials63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed in the Ambrosia Hotel during a trip to Ypres on the basis of the trip advisor rating. I found it perfect in every respect. Competitive room rates, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms recently decorated, very good central location for Ypres town centre and Menin Gate and a wonderful cooked breakfast. I will be taking a family party there next summer for a stay and recommend it completely.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SirHenryPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Went here for a long weekend to see WWI battlefields. Vincent (owner) is clearly ambitious and hence runs a very well oiled machine! Very helpful, putting us on to a great restaurant for dinner and giving us a cycle map of the area. Would definitely recommend for friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

I had a great time while staying in Ambrosia. I feel so relaxed and comfortable because of cosy and homely ambiance of the hotel. They also serve a very good cooked breakfast. Aside from these, they also offer bicycles and vespa for you to use in going around the city.

Ambrosia is strategically located in the heart of Ieper near the Menin Gate and other World War I sites.

The Ambrosia Hotel is without a doubt one of the better Ypres hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay31pee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I chose Hotel Ambrosia on the basis of trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed.
It's in a great location for the main square with all the bars, restaurants and the Menin Gate. The Belgians in the town of Ypres were most welcoming and we were treated to some great meals and of course, excellent beer.
There is free tea and coffee available from 9.00 am to 5 pm in the reception
Ypres provide an excellent base to tour the WW1 battlefields in the area.
I would highly recommend a visit to the city and a stay with Vincent at the Hotel Ambrosia

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haberfield, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

Located close to the top sights and the shops as well as the World War 1 battle fields and the Menin Gate, this small personalised hotel is a real gem. It is well-appointed and owned and operated by a young couple, Vincent & Iwona, whose attention to your comfort is paramount. Vincent also cooks up a mean breakfast. One not to be missed if travelling in West Flanders

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Property: Ambrosia Hotel
Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing