We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend and Would Stay Again”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Poole,Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend and Would Stay Again”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We can hardly overstate how good this friendly hotel was last week.
The hotel is very well placed in the centre, only short walks to the Gross Market and the Menin Gate. Free parking is possible in the nearby streets.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable with an excellent shower.
Vincent is really helpful , friendly and cooks a mean breakfast ! His English is perfect.
We particularly appreciated the free internet access in the foyer area.
We would not hesitate to stay again in the Ambrosia Hotel.
John and Angela Chennell.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hnandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    147
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
178
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Vincent the owner is a nice guy and the hotel was ideally located for a couple of days around the battlefields.... don't miss the last post at 8pm Menin Gate...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here for one night and can highly recommend it. Very centrally located, easy to find and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast, including a cooked option on request. One minus was the odd lighting arrangement in our bedroom, also the lack of a hairdryer in the bathroom. However, we will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgstravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We used the Ambrosia as a base for exploring the Salient and it was terrific. The owner, Vincent, couldn't have been more helpful; the hotel was spotlessly clean and well decorated and it's less than 5 minutes' walk to the market square. Breakfast was good and parking no problem at all. We will definitely return to the Ambrosia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We booked this hotel on the basis of recommendations months before our stay. Response from management, Vincent, to our queries was prompt. We received emailed confirmation of dates and charges.
On arrival we were shown to an extremely small room. The charge for this room was 10e more than quoted and we discovered the same for much larger rooms. Unseasonally warm weather made this room even more uncomfortable. The cord on the electric fan provided didn't reach any available powerpoint and so it sat precariously on a chair. In doing this the only movement around the room was climbing over the bed.
Discussions with Vincent about these problems were met with a shrug of the shoulders and not much care attitude. In all our other accommodation in Europe including the very small rooms in Paris - cheaper charges are attached to smaller rooms. It was a real shame because he has such a creative flair, even the drink machine in the foyer is innovative and up to date and so much else about the place including the location to the Menin Gate is excellent. We'd recommend it but you need to ensure you don't end up in the small street facing double room if you are a couple.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The Ambrosia hotel is in a great location. It offers excellent value for money - especially the breakfast! Very nice owner. Rooms of a very good standard!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My dad and I stayed one night at this hotel while we were in Ypres. It's in a great location, very clean and comfortable. It's only a block off the square (YPRES is quite samll anyway). It has a bar across the street but he also has a beer machine in the lobby (it is afterall, Belgium and they LOVE there beer)! The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. Thanks to Vincent and his family for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Property: Ambrosia Hotel
Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing