We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small well located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice small well located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Despite the narrow streets the Ambrosia is quite easy to find and parking when we were there in March was not a problem. It may be more troublesome however when the town is busier. Free parking is available at the station which is a little walk away from the hotel. The rooms here are very clean and our room was a good size. There was a little noise from the pedestrians outside in the morning but this was after 8.00am so not a problem. Wifi is available for free and the TV has more English channels than we have at home. An ample breakfast is available at 5 Euros. Although there is not a bar in the hotel there is a vending machine with a good range of beers and soft drinks and comfortable seating in the lobby. .Within 100 metres is a Spar supermarket with another slightly larger one just off the Grote Markt about 500 metres away. There are many restaurants nearby but beware that those on the Grote Markt are a little expensive and many places in the town are shut completely on Wednesdays. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaydad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    143
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
171
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had 2 double rooms and both were beautifully turned out and nice and clean. Walked to town 2 minutes. Breakfast was fresh and cooked bacon and eggs. Free coffee in lobby.Parked on street with ease outside hotel and inexpensive. Friendly owners.
We will return and send friends. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great for a family break. Smart and close to centre - perfect for us. Managed to park outside on road. Owner very helpful with detailed information on the local area. Visited several museums but also enjoyed the modern town. Ieper is a wonderful destination for a short break. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
230 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great little hotel. Ideally placed near the station, Grote Markt and the Menin Gate it is comfortable and thoughtfully appointed. Vincent and his team are attentive and helpful and happy to advise on local restaurants etc. Rooms are not large but perfectly adequate in our case with a nice en suite shower room. As the hotel is small you will avoid the risk of sharing the facilities with one of the large groups of kids on history school trips which seem to be everywhere else around the town. For €5 extra you can have the best value bacon and eggs in town and when you throw in free Wi-Fi this hotel makes for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location, clean and tidy with helpful staff. We stayed for one night and had no trouble finding a free parking space. The breakfast really set us up for our busy day ahead.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The Ambrosia hotel is a lovely hotel to stay in for a trip to Ypres.

We stayed in this hotel as a group of 8 people from work travelling to see the Menin Gate service in Jan 2013. The hotel is very close to the centre of Ypres, no more than a five minute walk to Menin Gate. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, and quite spacious, we'd manged to get quite a good price for the rooms and I was surprised at how nice they are. Breakfast in the morning was also very good, a good start to the day, and also they were happy to cook it when we were ready for it, rather than us having to be up at a certain time.

There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars near the hotel. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Ambrosia is a fantastic hotel, spotlessly clean lovely big rooms nice bathrooms with lovely showers, my bed was so comfy it was amazing, the staff are so helpful they will recomend places to eat and things to do and see, the little filapino girl at breakfast is so kind, she is a lovely lady, breakfast was good, cereal, ham, cheese, and i can recomend the fried eggs bacon and toast, i highly recomend this hotel if you are staying in leper

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Property: Ambrosia Hotel
Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing