We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Fish Soup !”
Review of Frederiksborg - CLOSED

Frederiksborg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bruxelles
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Try the Fish Soup !”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's so nice to get a fish soup with fish in it ! ... realy tastfull, fresh and good ! Prices are a little bit high .... but you are in Knokke ! so ....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank belgianbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    76
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Curate's Egg - Good food, average service”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a second visit to the restaurant, and we were very much looking forward to some great fish - so much so that my OH fairly scampered down the road, eagerly looking for the restaurant sign. We sat on the lovely enclosed terrace, making the acquaintance of a fine basset hound lolloping outside to the water bowl (nice touch).

Admittedly Sunday lunch was a busy time to try to probe the intricacies of the menu for something gluten free (using basic Dutch, reasonable French and a ready translated Flemish sheet of useful phrases), but the waiter was having none of it. He just issued a Gallic shrug, if such a thing exists in the Flemish half of Belgium. So my hopes of having some great fish dashed, I meekly submitted to a tuna nicoise, while the OH gorged on fine shrimp and the most beautiful sole. And I managed to get some frietjes on the third time of asking.

Food - still great. Ability to be just a teeny bit accommodating by telling me what I could eat on the menu - sadly not there. Perhaps next time we'll try a day other than a busy Sunday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyberryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelkheim (Taunus), Germany
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,130 helpful votes
“Here it was tasty - cooking at a high level”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have this little restaurant on one of our many walks through the city of Knokke and were seen equally impressed. Just because it so many in this city with high-priced Etablismants are not so good food.

It was very tasty here. The starters and the greeting from the kitchen beautifully presented. The beer in Belgium, yes, without question absolutely delicious.

The main courses were a similar star restaurant.

Only the waiters were probably a little overwhelmed, let's hope it was only on this day will bring.

thanks...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ELKTHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historical”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Good prices and good traditional Belgian dishes. Many locals keep this place full. Try the Cabillaud poché - delicious cod.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Agi u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederiksborg also viewed

Knokke, Knokke-Heist
Knokke, Knokke-Heist
 
Knokke, Knokke-Heist
Knokke, Knokke-Heist
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing