We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalistic design hotel at odd location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of d-hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
d-hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kortrijk
Malmö
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Minimalistic design hotel at odd location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Big minimalistic hotel placed among houses in suburb. Quiet and a little bit empty feeling. Good sleep quality. New owners not that consistent towards the minimalistic approach which drag the overall impression down. The gym is not good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at d-hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear,

thanks for posting your review on the d-hotel on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read you had a good night's sleep.

We hope to see you soon at Different Hotels.

With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    78
    74
    40
    26
See reviews for
14
144
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unfriendly staff. When we arrived, the hotel did not have a baby bed. They refused rudely to help us and said they would charge the room fully if we would not stay. They did nothing, nthing at all to help. Even after an official complaint, i didnt even get an apology.
Rooms are very basic and expensive.

Been to manyhotels and we travel a lot but this was horrific. Dont go there. Stay away

Room Tip: Dont go. Terrible, terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kortrijk hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

GENERAL
The hotel can be found in a beautiful modern building, next to an old mill. Both buildings go very well together. Very nice!

ROOMS
The rooms are modern as well, but need some refurbishment (i.e. painting). We were told that we would have a king size double bed, but in reality two single beds were put together with one big sheet. Not exactly the same... The giant picture of a naked breast all over the wall was also a little but awkward and funny, not "modern" or "arty". The fact that the toilet is not in a separate room is also not very pleasant. Sometimes you just need some privacy. Positive point is that the prices of the mini-bar (which can be found in the hallway) are democratic, especially for a hotel.

FOOD
We were lazy around dinner time, so stayed there to have the menu. There are no other restaurants in walking distance. The food was ok, nothing special. Same for the breakfast the next morning...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miquette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in September. Bizarre hotel with generally unfriendly, often surly, front desk staff (save Elodie). Designer-gone-mad is the motif. Our room had a large, not too clean bathtub in the middle of the room, as you entered, and a toilet in the corner, no partitions or doors (all the rooms we saw had little or no privacy in the bathroom). The beds were enclosed and side by side against the wall. You had to climb over each other to get in or out. Although the room was cleaned daily, it was not swept or thoroughly cleaned. We arrived on a Sunday. The restaurant in the hotel is closed Sunday and Monday, as are most restaurants in the immediate area and the adjacent village of Marke. To eat involved a taxi ride into Kortrijk which was paid by the hotel but involved long waits there and back. The only food delivery option was pizza. We spent an inordinate amount of time trying to find a place to eat, or an open shop to buy food. Everything was "gesloten." Ended up buying sandwiches in Kortrijk's Grote Markt and eating them cold in the room for dinner. Not much fun. The restaurant opened on Tuesday but was overpriced and had a very poor selection. Breakfast was included and pretty basic. Jennifer, the breakfast server was very helpful and attentive. The spa was only open from 4 - 8 p.m. despite having advertised 2 days of wellness. Ongoing maintenance issues - previous reviewers noted broken jets in the spa pool and problems with lighting in the hallways. These have not been fixed. When we complained about the dark corridors at night, "searchlights" were placed on the floor, blinding us as we approached our room. The spa could use a good cleaning, as could the lounge and bar area in the main lobby area. The outdoor patio furniture was dirty and the music in the spa too loud and it was the same C.D. played over and over again. Same thing in the breakfast room, although a different C.D. constantly running. Overall, a disappointing "wellness getaway" and a disappointing, unfriendly and unwelcoming hotel. Wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: If sharing, be prepared for little or no privacy in the bathroom of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

we organised a evening seminar/congress recently for 60 people.
Good parking facilities, accessibility ok, spacious conference facilities.
Ventilation system is "quite" loud and was intervering with the speakers and audience.
Good catering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neeroeteren, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited the Kortrijk Xpo for an exhibition. This hotel is 5 minutes traveling by car from the exhibition hall. In the evening we became a taxi to the citycentre for free. It's a very modern, design Hotel with old caracters from a nice big windmill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was the first of this kind that we had stayed in. When we arrived we felt the hotel decor was a little bizarre. We were here for business in the area but after looking at the local tourism guide we can see that this hotel does fit into it's location. The windmill attached to this property is a musem but was closed during our stay.
upon our arrival we were greeted at the reception by a nice young lady who was able to change our room twin bedded room immediatley upon request to a double. The hotel does not have a lot of warmth to it but is open and airy. Lots of huge windows that can not be opened. The bedroom was a good size. Once again lots of windows with no privacy in the bathroom. When I first used the loo, I thought it had already been used and not flushed but once I had read the check in sheet provided from the receptionist it does say that it is recycled rain water.
The bed was very comfortable. Wifi is not available in the room, only in the lounge area.
We had travelled all day and decided to dine in. The service was good. The food was very nice but did not warrent the price that we had to pay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seabreeze88a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kortrijk hotels
1.6 mi away
Parkhotel Kortrijk
Parkhotel Kortrijk
#1 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Kortrijk Centrum
2.0 mi away
Hotel Messeyne
Hotel Messeyne
#2 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Square Hotel
Square Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kortrijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Damier
Hotel Damier
#5 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to d-hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about d-hotel

Property: d-hotel
Address: Abdijmolenweg 1, Kortrijk 8510, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Kortrijk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kortrijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — d-hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your d-hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing