We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Service”
Review of Argendael

Argendael
Ranked #25 of 245 Restaurants in Kortrijk
Cuisines: Belgian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Fiddletown, California
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A group of five of us ate here for dinner. We all ordered different things and everything we tried was very good. What we really loved was the little bites of food they gave us in between the courses. All local and fresh food, it showed in the taste and presentation. Would definitely go back. I had the lobster, full course. My wife had the local beef that she found a little tough. Make sure you have reservations, even on a weekday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice decoration, nice plates, poor service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place is well maintained, the parking is very clean, the entry as well. The waitress welcomed us and pointed the room where we were going to spend the evening (she did not accompany us).
I have to mention we were a large group, about 20 people, company event.
We were quickly served with champagne, very good one. The small appetizer was good, a toast with cream and radish.
Once seated, the waiter was very professionnal, but there was a young waitress who was not. She served the wine like in a brasserie, putting dripples on the table and nearly on gentlemen's shirts. That made us lough at the beginning, not anymore at the end...
The card showed a nice variety of courses, but the menus prices were not very clear (different formules in function of the amount of courses, with or without wines etc). Prices were high, as high as in a double star restaurant in the region. This restaurant has no star.

The plates were nice, but we saw always the same "design" in the plate, a crumble of something with a green bowl of avocado in each course... It all tasted good and nicely prepared.

The wines were not good, badly served and my red wine was simply not drinkable, with a lot of deposit in the bottom of my glass. Some of my colleagues faced the same situation.

Some of the furniture was damaged (milk pot, oil pot, etc) which is not very nice to see on the table.

At the end, rate of quality/price, i would not go back to this restaurant and would preffer a real one or 2 stars restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loulou_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very pleasant experience, excellent fine dishes and relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We went for de 4 course january menu, wine inclusive. Excellent choice, nice balance of tastes. All of us (10pp) enjoyed the settings very much; I would, without a doubt, advise this restaurant to all who is looking for a good price/quality/experience balance. The vegetarian alternative scored at the same level as the menu of the month.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SultanHaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“top creativity and taste”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I was pleased to eat that quality of food in our region. I should recommand the restaurant to all tourists and business people who are in Kortrijk. The presentation is a delight fotr the eye and the taste of the food is superb. Even the custom wines are delicious.
The service is friendly, correct and professional without being overdone. This restaurant shows the competences and potentials of our young chefs!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argendael also viewed

Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
 
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Argendael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing