We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young dynamic resto”
Review of Bistro Bottarga

Bistro Bottarga
Ranked #55 of 375 Restaurants in Ostend
Price range: $36 - $144
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gistel, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Young dynamic resto”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are a loyal client to this restaurant in the last 3 years. A modern, loungy interior and a fusion cuisine with also excellent local dishes. The "Tomaat Garnaal" is just excellent with a massive amount of superfresh shrimps. Also try the steak tartare if you dare. And the staff is friendly with a perfect service. Not to forget the view with a spectacular complimentary sunset.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    93
    22
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good quality food, great views”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice atmosphere in Bistro Bottarga, and a varied menu. 8 of us ate here, and all enjoyed our meals. They were happy to accommodate younger kids, and the service was friendly. Lovely location looking out at the sea.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try it!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very nice restaurant on the promenade.. very good food, quick service and with a smile (and we were a party of 25 people). Good atmosphere as well and cosy interior.

Views of course splendid as you are looking out on the beach!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
283 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Liked it better last year”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had tried this restaurant last year and loved it, so I made sure to go again yesterday. The food was really delicious and I may have written the place up.
The restaurant is still nice and trendy, but the food was a bit of a disappointment. My risotto was overcooked to the point of being mushy, the batter on the crispy pleurottes was thick and dry, and although I don't like my scallops overdone, these were totally raw.
The chocolate sauce on the dame blanche was thin and watery. The wine was good.
I had boasted to my partner that I was taking him to a great place but I ended up with egg on my face, so I am slightly miffed. ^^
The terrace is fully covered at night and heaters turned on, which is great when it's a bit chilly. What is not so great is the only opening that's left is the size of a wide door. The terrace ends up being like an indoor smoking restaurant. Cigarette on the right, cigar on the left, not so nice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“trendy restaurant @ the sea front”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Good food and I had an excellent steak tartare, prepared at the table. My friends had oriental food and they were happy too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank coastalharleybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bottarga also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro Bottarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing