We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality, small portions.”
Review of Den Artiest

Den Artiest
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Ostend
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very good quality, small portions.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been here a couple of times, and i still have mixed feelings about it.
The quality of the meat it really good, that's undeniable.
BUT, the portions are not satisfying (At least for me), i tried Black angus, ribs and brazilian steak, they were all very good, and they were all very small.
Another thing that kills me is, you have to have cash. They simply don't accept card, the reasons why they do this are obvious, but still. It's annoying.
One of the ocasions i was there, the all restaurant was filled with serious smoke (Exausting problems i can assume, and when i say serious smoke i mean it), and we left the place smelling like we were cooking our own barbecue for a complete day.
I found better places in Ostend to eat a good steak, but the quality of the food here it's of course really good.
Avg price should be around 40€

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    216
    68
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

While working in Oostende I have eaten here several times, the ribs and steak are amazing. All cooked on the open wood grill, the steak has been cooked exactly to my order. The staff and atmosphere just make this possibly the best place to eat in Belgium.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best steak in town!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you like Belgian beers and nice meals - this is the place to go!
They have a beer menu with approximately 150 different beers - great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank swimgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A tad pricy compared to other restaurants but everything about Den Artiest is well worth the money. Very nice atmosphere, Very Friendly hard working staff, who speak excellent English made our visit really enjoyable. The Rib Eye Steak was excellent though the Spare Ribs were slightly on the tough side. We ordered a bottle of white and a bottle of red wines and when we asked for the bill we were also presented with another two bottles of wine to carry out! Highly recommend The Den Artiest but be advised to book as it is also popular with the locals!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poitiers
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Make sure you have cash!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great atmosphere.Beautiful building.Good food, cooked on open fire.they DO NOT TAKE CARDS..can you believe it ?
The bill for 4 people could be 200 euro's with drinks, and they expect you to go to the bank AFTER your meal.Why don't they put a sign outside, or tell you BEFORE you eat?
In spite of this however, it's a good night out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoitiersDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Artiest also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Artiest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing