We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great building, nice staff, overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Den Artiest

Den Artiest
Ranked #1 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Ostend
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reims, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great building, nice staff, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We came here after a failing experience at Art Deco restaurant. It was 9.30pm and so we needed somewhere to eat. They were very accommodating and we got a table pretty quickly. I would say that the starters are NOT worth your money whatsoever. We had cheese and prawn croquettas and they cost around 12euros each. NOT good value at all. Leave the starters and just get a main. The salmon and steak were very good. An average meal cost us 100% including a bottle of house wine. We have eaten in other restaurants for much cheaper and better quality so this wasn't a great experience for us. Nice building though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    202
    61
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, Top notch food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited the Den Artiest whilst staying in Hotel Bero which is just around the corner.

First impressions of this restaurant were WOW!

The atmosphere is cosy and the food was amazing!! Local beer was also nice too!

Only negative was that they don't accept card, cash only. A little inconvenience but nothing major. 9/10!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam88white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Last 7 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have been coming here for the last seven years when we are in Ostende for the Rats Ball. The ambience and fixtures and fittings are out of this world. You couldn`t ask for better surroundings. Even when busy as it was last weekend, the staff are polite and attentive. The meats are cooked in front of you over and open wood burner grill and they are out of this world if you like your steak and meat dishes. And although I don't eat fish, some of our group do and they loved it too. As always in belgium they serve a good range of quality Belgium beers to go with your meal. Next time I`m in Ostende I will be eating here again.

Two tips. Book in advance and don't go here if you are a veggie

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickey2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Pub, good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really liked this pub, and the beers they have of course, you're in belgium. Also the waiter was very kind, we had meat on the grill and it was delicious. Place to go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max_Italian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty steaks and skewers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent food : good and tasty selection of meats, delicious french fries,... Although the restaurant is often extremely busy, one never has to wait long because the service is efficiently organized. The only thing I don't like is the sour staff, but I suspect that they just have to work too hard to be friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Artiest also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Artiest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing